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PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION 
 

OF TEXAS 

 
ORDER ADOPTING AMENDMENTS TO §26.345 AND §26.346  
AS APPROVED AT THE JANUARY 25, 2007 OPEN MEETING 

 

The Public Utility Commission of Texas (commission) adopts amendments to §26.345, relating 

to Posting Requirements for Pay Telephone Service Providers, and §26.346, relating to Rates 

and Charges for Pay Telephone Service, with changes to the proposed text as published in the 

August 4, 2006 issue of the Texas Register (31 TexReg 6162).  The amendments: (1) change the 

notice requirements for payphone placards by adding text to §26.345(a)(3); (2) add a clause to 

§26.346(a) to comply with the Public Utility Regulatory Act (PURA) §55.1735, regarding 

charges for pay phone access lines; (3) replace the term “pay telephone services” with the 

abbreviation “PTS” in §26.346(b)(1); and (4) add new subparagraph (3) to §26.346(b) to make 

the rule consistent with PURA §§58.051, 58.151 and 58.152, regarding Chapter 58 electing 

companies.  These amendments are adopted under Project Number 31957. 

 

The commission received comments on the proposed amendments from the Texas Payphone 

Association (TPA), Southwestern Bell Telephone Company, L.P. d/b/a AT&T Texas (AT&T 

Texas), and the Office of Public Utility Counsel (OPC).  No reply comments were received and 

no party requested a public hearing on the proposed amendments.  All comments were fully 

considered by the commission.  Parties’ comments addressed specific subsections of the 

amendment and are summarized in order below. 
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Comments on §26.345(a)(3) 

Proposed §26.345(a)(3) requires that a placard be attached to each pay phone that provides the 

name, address, and telephone number for the telephone owner or agent providing the set, and the 

name and toll-free telephone number of the owner or agent responsible for refunds and repairs, 

and that such placard must be kept current at all times and the commission must be notified in 

writing within 30 days of any change to the owner’s telephone number or physical address.  The 

commission has experienced a number of inquiries from pay phone customers indicating he or 

she was unable to contact the pay telephone service (PTS) provider either because the 

information on the placard contained outdated information or because the placard did not exist. 

 

TPA agreed that the 30-day notification requirement of any changes in the telephone number and 

address of the PTS provider was adequate and TPA did not object to this part of the amendment.  

TPA suggested that the language that requires PTS providers to “maintain current information at 

all times” was not necessary.  TPA opined that the rule already requires that information be kept 

on the placard attached to pay phones, and implicit in that requirement is that the information be 

correct and current.  AT&T Texas provided no specific comments on this proposed change. 

 

OPC recommended that the commission instead grant a reasonable grace period of seven 

calendar days rather than the excessive allowance of 30 days.  OPC opined that the PTS provider 

planned such changes long before the actual change date and the commission would be acting 

reasonably if it required notice by the change date, especially for larger providers with multiple 
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pay telephones.  OPC recommended that notice be “due” by the date of the change, with a seven-

day grace period intended to assist providers less familiar with commission rules. 

 

Commission response 

The commission agrees with TPA that the 30-day notification requirement for PTS 

providers to notify the commission of any changes in the telephone number and address is 

both adequate and provides sufficient time for PTS providers to comply with this 

provision.  The commission recognizes this requirement imposes a burden on PTS 

providers.  The thirty-day notification requirement should ease that burden so that any 

PTS provider can timely submit the change of information to the commission in 

accordance with the rule. 

 

Further, the commission believes the recommendation proposed by OPC attempts to ease 

the burden on those PTS providers less familiar with the commission’s rules.  The 

commission believes that, because the notice requirement as proposed is easily understood 

and fairly applied, there is no need to accommodate one particular type of PTS provider.  

The commission believes that the rule as proposed is sufficient to enable PTS providers to 

provide the commission and consumers with the required information in a reasonably 

timely manner.  For these reasons, the commission declines to make any changes to this 

portion of the rule and adopts §26.345(a)(3) as proposed. 
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Comments on §26.346(a) 

The proposed amendment to §26.346(a) was intended to make the rule consistent with the 

provisions of PURA §55.1735, which provides that the charge or surcharge a local exchange 

company charges for an access line used to provide PTS may not exceed the amount of the 

charge or surcharge for an access line used for regular business purposes in the exchange where 

the pay phone is located.  TPA stated that it supported the change as it accurately implements 

PURA §55.1735, “Charge for Pay Phone Access Line.”  OPC supported the amendment as 

proposed.  

 

Commission response 

The commission agrees with TPA and OPC that the proposed change accurately 

implements PURA §55.1735.  The commission believes that the proposed change is 

consistent with PURA §55.1735 and adopts the change as proposed. 

 

Comments on §26.346(b)(1) 

The proposed change merely removes the words “pay telephone service” as the acronym “PTS” 

is already included in the subsection.  The acronym “PTS” is previously defined as standing for 

“pay telephone service” in §26.345(a).  TPA stated that it does not object to this minor, “house-

keeping” edit.   

 

Commission response 

Consistent with the comments, the commission adopts the change as proposed. 
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Comments on §26.346(b)(1)(F) 

The proposed rule would have replaced the distance-sensitive rate schedule in §26.346(b)(1)(F) 

with a single capped rate for intrastate long distance and operator-assisted calls at Texas pay 

phones.  TPA commented that there is no basis for the proposed rate change in Senate Bill 5 

(SB5) and it is doubtful the commission can show that the proposed changes comply with PURA 

§55.177, “Charge for Credit Card, Calling Card, or Operator-Assisted Calls.”  TPA pointed to 

PURA §55.177 that requires that (a) a provider may not impose for a credit card, calling card, or 

live or automated operator-assisted call a rate or charge that is greater than the authorized rates 

and charges published on March 18, 1995, in the eight newspapers having the largest circulation 

in this state, and (b) the published rates may not be changed. 

 

TPA argued that the proposed changes result in an arbitrary increase in charges of up to 32% for 

consumers on long distance rates for calls within 0-55 miles, as well as an arbitrary decrease in 

revenue by as much as 14% for pay phone providers on calls from 56 miles and over.  TPA 

argued that the commission failed to identify any justification for such a change and argued that 

the commission should consider the potential negative impact it will have on the pay phone 

industry and consumers and reject the proposed change. 

 

Further, TPA stated that the proposed flat rate, determined by averaging all of the rates in the 

table, is inaccurate and unsatisfactory.  TPA posited that a more prudent way to establish a rate 

change would be to open a proceeding, collect relevant data from the industry, and establish a 

flat rate that will harm neither the consumer nor the PTS provider. 
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OPC stated that it generally supported the goal of simplifying the PTS rates but that this 

rulemaking does not appear to be the appropriate place for such a significant ratemaking change.  

OPC suggested that an appropriate ratemaking proceeding would at least involve a collection of 

data regarding costs and rates, along with an opportunity for interested parties to contest the data 

and proposed new rates. 

 

Commission response 

The commission is persuaded by the comments of TPA.  Specifically, the commission relies 

upon PURA §55.177(a) that establishes that a PTS provider may not impose a rate or 

charge that is greater than the authorized rates and charges published on March 18, 1995, 

in the eight newspapers having the largest circulation in this state.  Moreover, PURA 

§55.177(b) expressly states that the published rates may not be changed.  Therefore, the 

commission declines to adopt the proposed amendment to §26.346(b)(1)(F). 

 

Comments on §26.346(b)(3) 

The proposed language is intended to make clear that certain requirements of §26.346(b) do not 

apply to PURA Chapter 58 electing local exchange companies.  TPA objected to this proposed 

amendment.  TPA argued that the provision of PURA that essentially deregulated electing local 

exchange companies (LECs) was implemented long before SB5.  TPA argued that there has been 

no need for an express exemption for electing LECs to date as electing LECs know whether or 

not they are subject to commission-mandated rate caps.  Further, TPA stated that the electing 

LECs have practically ceased to provide pay phone service at all and that adding the proposed 

language would confuse the pay phone service providers that do continue to provide service. 
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OPC proposed that the words “do not apply” be changed to “may not apply” given that it is not 

clear whether all electing local exchange companies are entirely exempt from §26.346(b)(1)(B) 

and (D) through (F). 

 

Commission response 

The commission believes the addition to this subsection makes the rule consistent with 

PURA §58.051, Services Included (Nonbasic Services), §58.151, Services Included (Basic 

Services), and §58.152, Prices.  Section 58.051(a)(6) lists private pay telephone access 

service as a basic network service and §58.151(18) lists services from public pay telephones 

as nonbasic services.  Section 58.152(a) permits an electing company the option to set the 

price for any nonbasic service at any level above the lesser of the service’s long run 

incremental cost or the price for the service in effect on September 1, 1999.  Thus, electing 

companies are not subject to certain provisions of §26.346(b), namely those that pertain to 

rate caps for certain types of calls.  The commission does not agree with TPA’s statement 

that electing LECs have practically ceased to provide pay phone service at all.  Electing 

LECs do continue to provide PTS and the commission believes that the addition is 

necessary and in no way confusing to PTS providers.  The commission does not agree with 

OPC that changing “do not apply” to “may not apply” in the final sentence of the proposed 

change would clarify the intent of the rule or that clarification is necessary.  The 

commission adopts the changes as proposed. 
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These amendments are adopted under the Public Utility Regulatory Act, Texas Utilities Code 

Annotated §14.002 (Vernon 1998, Supplement 2006) (PURA) which provides the commission 

with the authority to make and enforce rules reasonably required in the exercise of its powers 

and jurisdiction.   

 

Cross Reference to Statutes: Public Utility Regulatory Act §§14.002, 14.052, 55.1735, 55.1759, 

58.051, 58.151, and 58.152. 
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§26.345.  Posting Requirements for Pay Telephone Service Providers. 

(a) The pay telephone service (PTS) provider must attach to each instrument a card that 

provides: 

(1) instructions in English and Spanish for accessing emergency service subject to the 

conditions contained in subparagraphs (A) and (B) of this paragraph: 

(A) where E-911 or 911 emergency service is available, the caller must be 

instructed to dial 911 and the PTS provider must allow E-911 or 911 calls 

to be outpulsed directly to the Public Service Answering Point at no 

charge and without requiring a coin or credit card; or 

(B) where E-911 or 911 is not available, the caller must be instructed to dial 

"0" and dialing "0" must, at no charge and without requiring a coin or 

credit card, directly connect the caller with an operator service provider 

(OSP) that is in compliance with the technical standards set forth in 

§26.321(b) of this title (relating to 9-1-1 calls, "0-" calls, and End User 

Choice); 

(2) instructions for use, including specifically instructions for completion of local and 

toll calls, access to operator services, access to directory assistance, obtaining 

refunds, obtaining repair service, registering complaints at a designated toll-free 

telephone number, reporting out-of-service conditions, and using one-way calling 

(if the instrument is so equipped); and 

(3) notice stating the name, address, and ten digit telephone number for the pay 

telephone owner or agent providing the set, and providing the name and toll-free 

telephone number of the owner or agent responsible for refunds and repairs; the 
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PTS provider shall maintain current information on the placard at all times and 

shall notify the commission in writing of any changes to the business telephone 

number of the pay telephone owner, or changes of the physical address from 

which the pay telephone owner operates, within thirty calendar days of such 

change; and 

(4) if an extension has been attached, a notice that legibly and conspicuously states in 

capital letters: "YOUR CONVERSATION MAY BE OVERHEARD BECAUSE 

AN EXTENSION TELEPHONE IS ATTACHED TO THIS PHONE LINE."; and 

(5) a placard that clearly states the fee for completing a local call from that telephone. 

(b) PTS providers must also attach to each instrument a card that says: "The long distance 

carrier serving this phone is {insert name of the pre-subscribed long distance 

telecommunications service provider}.  You can learn what its rates are by calling {insert 

long distance telecommunications service providers' toll-free rate information phone 

number} at any hour at no cost to you.  If you would rather use another long distance 

carrier, you can either use {insert name of incumbent local exchange provider}'s operator 

by calling {insert dialing directions here}, or use your own long distance carrier by 

following its dialing instructions or asking the operator for assistance." 

(c) If the PTS provider subscribes to the services of an operator service provider (OSP) that 

is required to comply with Subchapter M of this chapter (relating to Operator Services), 

the PTS provider remains liable for compliance with this section, but may coordinate 

with the OSP so that information to be provided at the pay telephone set is not 

duplicated.  If the PTS provider uses automated call completion technology to complete 
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some operator service calls and subscribes to the services of an OSP that is required to 

comply with Subchapter M of this chapter, the PTS provider must ensure that the 

information provided at the pay telephone set clearly informs the caller about which 

information applies to which operator service calls. 

(d) If a pay telephone cannot receive incoming calls, the PTS provider shall place in a 

conspicuous location on the pay telephone a notice, in letters one-quarter inch high, 

stating, "THIS TELEPHONE CANNOT RECEIVE TELEPHONE CALLS."  

Furthermore, the PTS provider shall not display the number of the pay telephone on any 

such telephone that does not receive incoming calls. 

(e) The requirements of this subsection do not apply to pay telephones accessible to inmates 

of confinement facilities. 

(f) Applications for modification of information to be provided at the pay telephone set.  

The commission may approve applications for modification of the requirements 

contained in subsection (b) and (c) of this section upon showing of good cause by the 

PTS provider.  The commission shall process applications for modification using the 

criteria and procedures set forth in §26.317(c) of this title (relating to Information to be 

Provided at the Telephone Set). 
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§26.346.  Rates and Charges for Pay Telephone Service Providers. 

(a) Rate structure.  Certificated telecommunications utility (CTU) rates for wholesale 

service must be designed on a flat access line and/or a local message usage rate basis.  

Multi-element measured rates are prohibited.  In areas without measuring capabilities, the 

CTU may use a flat rate usage surrogate instead of a per call message rate.  Measurement 

capabilities are defined as the capability in place to measure and bill pay telephone usage 

without incurring unreasonable expense.  The charge or surcharge a CTU imposes for an 

access line used to provide pay telephone service (PTS) in an exchange may not exceed 

the amount of the charge or surcharge the CTU imposes for an access line used for 

regular business purposes in that exchange. 

(b) Charges. 

(1) A PTS provider must: 

(A) not impose on pay phone end users any charge for calls made under 

Chapter 771 or 772 of the Texas Health and Safety Code; 

(B) not impose a charge for "950-XXXX" calls, "1010XXX+0", or "1-800" or 

"1-888"-type calls to nonpresubscribed interexchange carriers (for 

example "1-800-COLLECT", "1-800-CALLATT", or "1-800-877-8000"); 

(C) not impose a charge for local calls from pay telephones to the 

Telecommunications Relay Service (TRS); 

(D) for local calls which are collect, operator-assisted or paid by credit card or 

calling card, not impose a charge which exceeds the highest applicable 
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rate for such calls of any of the four largest interexchange carriers 

operating in this state; and 

(E) for credit card, calling card, or live or automated operator-handled toll 

calls, not charge a rate or total charge that exceeds the authorized rates and 

charges listed in subparagraph (F) of this paragraph. 

(F) charge no more than these rate caps for intrastate long distance and 

operator- assisted calls at Texas pay phones: 

Mileage 1st Min. Add’l Min. 
0 - 10 .2975 .2625 
11 - 22 .3150 .2975 
23 - 55 .3325 .3150 
56 - 124 .3675 .3500 
125 - 292 .4025 .3850 
293 - Over .4200 .4025 
 
Operator Service Charges: 
Customer-Dialed Calling Card 
Station 

$2.50 

Operator-Dialed Station $3.75 
Person To Person $4.50 
Long Distance Access Fee $1.00 

 
(2) The requirements of paragraph (1)(A) through (C) of this subsection do not apply 

to pay telephones accessible to inmates of confinement facilities. 

(3) The requirements of paragraph (1)(B) and (D) through (F) of this subsection do 

not apply to electing local exchange companies. 
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 This agency hereby certifies that the adoption has been reviewed by legal counsel and 

found to be a valid exercise of the agency’s legal authority.  It is therefore ordered by the Public 

Utility Commission of Texas that §26.345, relating to Posting Requirements for Pay Telephone 

Service Providers, and §26.346, relating to Rates and Charges for Pay Telephone Service 

Providers, are hereby adopted with changes to the text as proposed. 

 
 ISSUED IN AUSTIN, TEXAS ON THE _________ DAY OF ___________ 2007. 
 

 PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION OF TEXAS 
 
 
 
 __________________________________________ 
 PAUL HUDSON, CHAIRMAN 
 
 
 _________________________________________ 
 JULIE PARSLEY, COMMISSIONER 
 
 
 __________________________________________ 
 BARRY T. SMITHERMAN, COMMISSIONER 
 
 
Q:\CADM\TXR-Rules Management\Rules\Rulemaking Projects\Telecom\31957\31957adt.doc 

 


