
 

 

 

 

 

PROJECT NO. 31957 


RULEMAKING TO MODIFY § PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION 
PAYPHONE RULES AND TO ADDRESS § 
ACCESS LINE CHARGES TO COMPLY § OF TEXAS 
WITH PURA § 
SECTION 55.1735 § 

PROPOSAL FOR PUBLICATION OF AMENDMENTS TO §26.345 AND §26.346 
AS APPROVED AT THE JULY 20, 2006, OPEN MEETING 

The Public Utility Commission of Texas (commission) proposes amendments to §26.345, 

relating to Posting Requirements for Pay Telephone Service Providers and §26.346, relating to 

Rates and Charges for Pay Telephone Service.  The proposed amendments will: (1) add a 

sentence to §26.346(a) so that it is consistent with §55.1735 of the Public Utility Regulatory Act 

(PURA), regarding charges for pay phone access lines; (2) replace “pay telephone service” with 

the acronym “PTS” in §26.346(b)(1); (3) replace the rate table under §26.346(b)(1)(F) with a 

new rate table that provides for a single blended per minute rate calculated by averaging all of 

the mileage band rates; (4) add a new paragraph (3) to §26.346(b) to make the rule consistent 

with PURA §§58.051, 58.151 and 58.152, regarding electing companies; and (5) add language to 

§26.345(a)(3) requiring a pay telephone service provider to notify the commission of changes to 

payphone placards within 30 days. Project Number 31957 is assigned to these proposed 

amendments. 

Harry Deckard, Attorney, Legal Division and Stephen Mendoza, Network Analyst, Infrastructure 

Reliability Division, have determined that for each year of the first five-year period the proposed 

amendments are in effect there will be no fiscal implications for state or local government as a 

result of enforcing or administering the proposed amendments. 
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Mr. Deckard and Mr. Mendoza have determined that for each year of the first five years the 

proposed amendments are in effect the public will benefit because it will receive customer 

refunds for money lost due to failed pay telephone service calls more efficiently. There will be 

no adverse economic effect on small businesses or micro-businesses as a result of enforcing 

these amendments.  There will be no direct economic costs to persons who are required to comply with 

the proposed amendments; however, there may be economic costs to telecommunications companies that 

must comply with the proposed amendments.  However, it is believed that the benefits accruing from 

implementation of the proposed amendments will outweigh those costs. 

Mr. Deckard and Mr. Mendoza have also determined that for each year of the first five years the 

proposed amendments are in effect there should be no effect on a local economy.  Therefore no 

local employment impact statement is required under Administrative Procedure Act, Texas 

Government Code §2001.022. 

Comments on the proposed amendments may be submitted to the Filing Clerk, Public Utility 

Commission of Texas, 1701 North Congress Avenue, P.O. Box 13326, Austin, Texas 78711-

3326, within 30 days after publication. Sixteen copies of comments to the proposed amendments 

are required to be filed pursuant to §22.71(c) of this title.  Comments should be organized in a 

manner consistent with the organization of the proposed amendments.  The commission invites 

specific comments regarding costs associated with, and benefits gained by, implementing the 

proposed amendments.  The commission will consider the costs and benefits in deciding whether 

to adopt the amendments.  All comments should refer to Project Number 31957. 
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These amendments are proposed under the Public Utility Regulatory Act, Texas Utilities Code 

Annotated §14.002 (Vernon 1998, Supplement 2005) (PURA), which authorizes the Public 

Utility Commission to make and enforce rules reasonably required in the exercise of its powers 

and jurisdiction. Section 55.1735 grant(s) the commission the authority to cap the charge or 

surcharge a local exchange company may impose for an access line used to provide pay 

telephone service in an exchange so it does not exceed the charge or surcharge the company 

imposes for an access line used for regular business purposes in that exchange. 

Cross Reference to Statutes: Public Utility Regulatory Act, §§14.002, 55.1735, 55.1759, 58.051, 

58.151 and, 58.152. 
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§26.345. Posting Requirements for Pay Telephone Service Providers. 

(a) 	 The pay telephone service (PTS) provider must attach to each instrument a card that 

provides: 

(1)-(2) (No change.) 

(3) 	 notice stating the name, address, and ten digit telephone number for the pay 

telephone owner or agent providing the set, and providing the name and toll-free 

telephone number of the owner or agent responsible for refunds and repairs; the 

PTS provider shall maintain current information on the placard at all times and 

shall notify the commission in writing of any changes to the business telephone 

number of the pay telephone owner, or changes of the physical address from 

which the pay telephone owner operates, within thirty calendar days of such 

change; and 

(4)-(5) (No change.) 

(b)-(f) (No change.) 



 
 
 

 

 

 

 

   

  
  

 

   
   

   
   

   
   
   

 

PROJECT NO. 31957 PROPOSAL FOR PUBLICATION 	 PAGE 5 OF 7 

§26.346. Rates and Charges for Pay Telephone Service Providers. 

(a) 	 Rate structure. Certificated telecommunications utility (CTU) rates for wholesale 

service must be designed on a flat access line and/or a local message usage rate basis. 

Multi-element measured rates are prohibited.  In areas without measuring capabilities, the 

CTU may use a flat rate usage surrogate instead of a per call message rate.  Measurement 

capabilities are defined as the capability in place to measure and bill pay telephone usage 

without incurring unreasonable expense. The charge or surcharge a CTU imposes for an 

access line used to provide pay telephone service (PTS) in an exchange may not exceed 

the amount of the charge or surcharge the CTU imposes for an access line used for 

regular business purposes in that exchange. 

(b) 	 Charges. 

(1) 	A PTSpay telephone service (PTS) provider must: 


(A)-(E) (No change.) 


(F) 	 charge no more than these rate caps for intrastate long distance and 

operator- assisted calls at Texas pay phones: 

Distance Per Minute 
All distances $0.3456 

Mileage 1st Min. Add'l Min. 
0 - 10 .2975 .2625 
11 - 22 .3150 .2975 
23 - 55 .3325 .3150 
56 - 124 .3675 .3500 
125 - 292 .4025 .3850 
293 - Over .4200 .4025 

Operator Service Charges: 
Customer-Dialed Calling Card Station $2.50 
Operator-Dialed Station $3.75 
Person To Person $4.50 
Long Distance Access Fee $1.00 
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(2) 	 The requirements of paragraph (1)(A) through (C) of this subsection do not apply 

to pay telephones accessible to inmates of confinement facilities. 

(3) 	 The requirements of paragraph (1)(B) and (D) through (F) of this subsection do 

not apply to electing local exchange companies. 
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This agency hereby certifies that the proposal has been reviewed by legal counsel and 

found to be within the agency's legal authority to adopt. 

ISSUED IN AUSTIN, TEXAS ON THE 20TH DAY OF JULY 2006 BY THE 

PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION OF TEXAS 


ADRIANA A. GONZALES 
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