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Electric Deposit Payment Options
Deposits and Satisfactory Credit
If you are requesting electric service, you may be asked to show 

proof of satisfactory credit history 
or pay a deposit in order to begin 
receiving service. Electric service 
in most areas of Texas is provided 
by Retail Electric Providers (REP). 
These companies may request a 
deposit of up to one-fifth of your 
estimated annual electric bill or 
the total of your estimated bills for 
the next two months. However, you 
should know that:
•• You can avoid paying a 

deposit if you meet certain require-
ments.
•• If you are required to pay a 

deposit, you may be able to pay in 
installments.
Avoid Paying a Deposit

    To sign up for service with a REP, 
you may be able to avoid paying a deposit if you have been a 
customer of any REP or an electric utility within the last two 
years before requesting service, are not delinquent on your elec-
tric account, and have not been late in paying more than once 
during the last 12 months of service. You can also avoid paying a 
deposit if you have a satisfactory electric payment history.
Additional Ways to Avoid Paying a Deposit
The following are additional ways to avoid paying a deposit if 
you are signing up with a REP:
•• You are 65 years of age or older and are not past due on any 

electric service account.

•• You have been determined to be a victim of family violence.

To qualify as a victim of family violence, you will need to provide 
a Texas Council on Family Violence deposit waiver certification 
letter (www.tcfv.org/policy/ forms-and-information). The letter 

must be filled out by family violence center personnel, treating 
medical personnel, law enforcement personnel, a Texas District 
Attorney or County Attorney, Office of the Attorney General 
personnel, or a grantee of the Texas Equal Access to Justice 
Foundation. The letter must be submitted directly to the Retail 
Electric Provider (REP) using the REP’s toll-free fax number.
A copy of the deposit waiver certification letter can also be 
obtained on our website at:
http://www.puc.texas.gov/consumer/lowincome/Assistance.aspx 
The following are additional ways to avoid paying a deposit:
You are medically indigent, by demonstrating that:
•• Your household income is at or below 150% of the federal 

poverty guideline ($23,265for a family of two, $6,030 for each 
additional family member per 2013 guidelines) as certified by a 
governmental entity or govern ment funded energy assistance 
program provider.
You or your spouse has been certified by a physician as being 
unable to perform three or more daily activities such as groom-
ing, bathing, and feeding or your monthly out-of-pocket medical 
expenses exceed 20% of your household’s total income.
•• Obtain a written guarantee by a friend or family member who 

is currently a customer in good standing with the REP you are 
signing up with. Contact the REP for more information on the 
terms and requirements for a letter of guarantee.
Paying in Installments
If you are required to pay a deposit, you may be eligible to pay 
a deposit over $50 in two installments if you are a low-income 
customer. Please note that:
•• The REP may require you to provide documenta-tion prov-

ing that you are on the Low-Income Discount Administrator’s 
eligibility list. You may be on this list if you are currently enrolled 
for electric service with a REP and are enrolled in a Texas Health 
and Human Services Commission program, such as foodstamps 
or Medicaid.
•• If you are not on the eligibility list, the REP may request that 

you provide other documentation to show that you otherwise 
qualify.

QUESTIONS:
Call:	 1-888-782-8477, in Austin 512-936-7120 		  Write:	 PUC - Customer Protection Division	
	 (TTY 512-936-7136) (FAX 512-936-7003)				   P.O. Box 13326, Austin, TX 78711-3326

Online: http://www.puc.texas.gov/consumer/complaint/Complaint.aspx




