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Surcharging Customers of Investor-Owned Utilities 
for Sampling and Inspection Fees

What Are the Surcharge Rules?

An investor-owned water or sewer utility (“utility”) may request 
approval to collect a surcharge from each of its customers. Rules 
of the Public Utility Commission of Texas (PUCT) allow a utility 

to recover the actual increase in 
costs for sampling, inspection fees, 
and other governmental require-
ments that are beyond the utility’s 
control. These rules are in Title 16, 
Texas Administrative Code, Section 
24.21(k)(2).

When to Request Surcharge Approval

Under PUCT rules, a utility may collect a surcharge over a specified 
time period, but only after the utility has been authorized in writing 
by the regulatory authority that has jurisdiction over its rates and 
services. If the utility is located inside the corporate boundaries of a 
city (“city limits”), the utility must seek approval for that surcharge 
from that city. If the utility is located outside the city limits, the util-
ity must seek approval from the PUCT. 

What Steps Are Required?

To collect a surcharge to recover the costs of sampling and inspec-
tion fees, a utility must follow these requirements:

•• obtain approval in writing from the appropriate regulatory 		
	 authority—either from the PUCT or from the city with original 	
	 jurisdiction—before charging and collecting the surcharge;

•• notify customers after the surcharge is approved—never at the 	
	 time approval of the surcharge is requested.

What Costs Can Be Recovered?

A surcharge may only include actual increases in costs under the 
surcharge rule. The primary purpose of the surcharge is to recover 
costs already incurred. However, a utility may be allowed to begin 
recovering costs for additional required sampling that has not yet 
occured if the sampling costs would cause significant financial 
problems for the utility.

What Sampling Costs and Fees Can Be Surcharged?

Utility cost increases can result from a variety of required samples 
and inspection fees. Examples include:

•• additional sampling required for implementation of the federal 	
	 Safe Drinking Water Act; and

•• routine water or wastewater sampling and inspection fees 		

	 (for example, public water system 	
	 or wastewater fees, tracer studies 	
	 for surface water plants, and 		
	 chemical sampling for substances, 	
	 such as lead and copper).

How to Calculate the Surcharge

Here is an example that demonstrates 
how to calculate the amount of the 
surcharge:

ABC Utility Company (ABC), with 150 
connections, had a $2,700.00 increase 
in sampling costs that were not an-
ticipated when its current rates were 
set. This cost was a nonrecurring 
expense, because a waiver was granted 
for similar sampling in the future.

•• ABC proposes recovering this unanticipated expense from its 	
	 customers using the following calculations:Sampling cost per 	
	 connection:   $2,700.00 divided by 150 connections = $18.00 per 	
	 connection; and

•• Proposed monthly surcharge per month for one year:  $18.00 	
	 sampling cost per connection divided by 12 months = $1.50 		
	 surcharge per customer per month.

How to Request PUCT Approval

Utilities serving outside the city limits should mail a request with 
sufficient documentation for approval of a surcharge to:

Public Utility Commission of Texas

Attention:  Filing Clerk

1701 N. Congress Avenue

P.O.  Box 13326

Austin, Texas  78711-33236

What Should a Request Letter Include?

A letter requesting approval of a surcharge should provide the 		
following information:

•• Total amount of the increase for sampling and inspection costs 	
	 covered by the surcharge request;

•• Number of current connections;
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•• Requested monthly surcharge per connection;

•• Number of months the surcharge will be in effect (PUC T rules 	
	 do not specify how long the surcharge should last, but it should 	
	 be a reasonable time period – one that takes into consideration 	
	 the impact of the surcharge on the customer’s monthly bill); and

•• Calculations showing how the surcharge is divided among the 	
	 current number of connections.

What supporting documents must be provided?

The supporting documents submitted with the surcharge request letter 
should include:

•• An explanation or documentation of the increased costs, or how 	
	 the increased costs were calculated, including copies of pay-	
	 ment receipts or invoices for the allowable costs;

•• If costs are requested for sampling that has not yet been con-	
	 ducted, copies of cost estimates and time schedules, along 		
	 with 	an explanation of the financial difficulties the utility will 	
	 experience if future costs are not included.  A copy of the 		
	 required samples for the current year and the estimated cost list 	
	 can be obtained from the Texas Commission on Environmental 	
	 Quality’s (TCEQ’s) Public Drinking Water Section (512/239-4691)  	
	 and may be included to support these cost estimates.  Remem-	
	 ber that all tests may not be required for every utility;  and

•• Copies of all letters to or from the TCEQ’s Source Water Assess-	
	 ment & Protection Team.   The TCEQ is authorized to grant 		
	 waivers for chemical sampling in some instances.  If the 		
	 utility is unaware of its waiver status, it should contact the 		
	 TCEQ’s Source Water Assessment & Protection Team at 		
	 512/239-4691.

PUCT Review of Surcharge Requests

The PUCT’s Water Utilities program is responsible for reviewing 
surcharge requests.  If a request is adequately justified and reason-
able, the PUC will notify the utility of the approval of the request.  If 
more information is needed, the utility will be notified.

If the PUCT staff do not agree with the proposed surcharge or the 
length of time it will be in effect, staff will discuss their concerns 
with the utility and the Commission will set an appropriate sur-
charge.  However, the utility still has the option of filing a complete 
rate change application to recover reasonable and necessary 
expenses.

Billing Procedures after PUCT Approval

•• The surcharge may be included on the first bill the utility sends 	
	 out after receiving approval;

•• A surcharge notice must be included on the first bill.  The fol-	
	 lowing statement is an example:  “The PUCT has approved this 	
	 surcharge for a 12-month period to cover the increased costs 	
	 of sampling fees incurred to comply with the federal Safe Drink-	
	 ing Water Act;”

•• The surcharge must be identified and listed separately on each 	
	 monthly bill;

•• The utility must stop collecting the surcharge as soon as the 	
	 authorized amount has been collected; and

•• If the utility collects any surplus amount over the authorized 	
	 amount, the utility must credit the surplus back to the customers 	
	 on the next monthly bill.

Questions?

Customers may call the PUCT’s Customer Protection Division at 
888-782-8477

Utilities may call the PUCT’s Water Utilities Division at 512-396-
7405.

Go to the PUCT’s website at www.puc.texas.gov




