Automatic Dial Announcing Device Certification and Licensing
ADAD Frequently Asked Questions
- Who should register an ADAD?
- Anyone who uses an ADAD to play a recorded message?
- What are the assigned ADAD numbers?
- These are the telephone numbers the ADAD machine uses to call and the number that appears on caller identification advices.
- What is the fee to register?
- The fee is $50 for a new permit and $15 for annual renewal. This fee does not represent approval to operate.
- How long does it take to receive an ADAD permit?
- Approval can take up to a month before an ADAD permit is issued.
- How often do I have to renew?
- Your renewal must be received annually and 90 days prior to the expiration date of your permit.
- I have already renewed my ADAD permit, but I have updated information I need to add. How do I submit the updated information?
If you have already renewed your ADAD permit and you need to update address or ADAD numbers and county locations etc., you must send this information on a cover letter (3 copies) with your company name, permit number, and project number. If you are adding ADAD numbers and county locations and there are more than 5, the numbers and county locations need to be submitted on 2 identical CDs (see format below) with 3 copies of the cover letter.
Submit one original and three copies to:
Public Utility Commission
Attention: Central Records
P.O. Box 13326
1701 N. Congress Avenue
Austin, TX 78711
- What is the format for ADAD Numbers and County Locations?
Tab once between the 10 digit number and the county name and Enter (return) after each number and county - Do Not Use Spaces.
No other typing should be in this file except the 10 digit numbers and name of the county where the ADAD is located. Save the file as your Login name - (example) AD010010.txt.
How to list county names:
CORRECT - Travis
INCORRECT - Travis County
Make sure the name of the Texas counties are spelled correctly. View a list of Texas counties. Out of state counties must be listed as well.
- Can I fax my registration form?
- No. Four copies of your completed registration form must be filed with the Central Records Division of the PUC. The mailing address information can be found at the upper left corner of the registration form.
- What if I forget to renew my permit?
- You must reapply for a new permit and pay the $50 registration fee. In addition, you should be aware that operation of an ADAD without the proper registration is a criminal Class A misdemeanor. See 55.138. You could also be subject to administrative penalties up to $1,000 for each day the ADAD operates without the required registration.
- What is considered confidential information on the registration form?
- The ADAD number(s) are the only information considered confidential, but must be filed as confidential material pursuant to Procedural Rule 22.71(d).
- Who can help me file confidential information?
- Our Central Records Division will be able to answer questions you may have regarding filing confidential information - 512-936-7180.
- What if there is a problem with my registration?
- If any information is not complete or questionable, two copies of your registration will be returned and you will have to re-submit an additional four copies of the registration to the Central Records Division. You will not have to pay an additional fee unless you fail to re-submit your registration. This fee is good for one year in conjunction with when your registration is approved.