ADAD - Automatic Dial Announcing Device Permits
ADAD stands for Automatic Dial Announcing Device, and this is the mechanism that sends an unsolicited recorded message to your home or workplace and could leave such a message on your answering machine.
Since 1986, the Texas PUC has been issuing ADAD permits for a fee. The fee for applications and renewals is $50 and $15 respectively.
Who Should File: Any individual or company wishing to make an unsolicited call via an ADAD machine or software, in which a recorded message is played, should file for an ADAD permit application PRIOR to engaging in such calls. Failure to do so may result in administrative penalties not to exceed $1000 for each day or portion of a day during which the ADAD was operating in violation of the PUC rules. See below for applicable rules.
When to File: ADAD permit holders are required to renew their permits annually within 90 days prior to expiration.
Incomplete Applications: Incomplete applications will be rejected and returned to you. NOTE: Only two copies will be returned to you and two will remain as public record in our Central Records Division. You will still be required to re-submit 4 copies of the corrected application in its entirety to the Central Records Division.
ADAD permit holders are also required to subscribe to the Texas and National Do Not Call lists:
1) Texas Do Not Call List
2) National Do Not call List
Forms - Applications
ADAD Penalties and Cease and Desist Letters
- Automatic Dial Announcing Devices
- Correction to these lists: send three copies of notice with current year's project number to Filing Clerk, Public Utility Commission of Texas, 1701 North Congress, Room 8-100, P. O. Box 13326, Austin, TX, 78711-3326.
Rules - Statutes - Orders