PROJECT NO. 31937

RULEMAKING TO ESTABLISH A
CLASSIFICATION SYSTEM FOR
THE ASSESSMENT OF
ADMINISTRATIVE PENALTIES

PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION

OF TEXAS

wn W W W

ORDER ADOPTING AMENDMENT TO §22.246
AS APPROVED AT THE SEPTEMBER 21, 2006 OPEN MEETING
The Public Utility Commission of Texas (commission) adopts an amendment to §22.246,
relating to Administrative Penalties with no changes to the proposed text as published in the
April 28, 2006 issue of the Texas Register (31 TexReg 3462). The amendment implements
Public Utility Regulatory Act (PURA) 815.023. The amendment will increase the maximum
penalty per violation from $5,000.00 to $25,000.00 and limit penalties in excess of $5,000.00 per
violation to only those violations included in the highest class of violations. This amendment is

adopted under Project Number 31937.

The commission received comments on the proposed amendment from AT&T Texas (AT&T), El
Paso Electric Company (EPE), Retail Electric Provider Coalition (REPC), Entergy Gulf States,
Inc. (EGSI), Joint TDUs, Econnergy Energy Company, Inc. (Econnergy), Joint Commenters,

TXU Wholesale Company (TXU Wholesale), and Joint Retail Electric Providers (Joint REPS).

Subsection (c)(2)
REPC, AT&T and Joint TDUs in their reply comments, stated that the commission should
amend the definition of “violation” in paragraph (b)(3) because the logic in the definition is

circular. The commenters would add the following sentence to the existing definition: “The
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violation is the act or failure to act that is inconsistent with PURA, Commission rule, or
Commission order, not the manner in which that act or failure to act has been conveyed or
applied or failed to be conveyed or applied.” Commenters cited assessing a penalty for each day
a report is not filed on time as a clear example of a “separate” violation. According to these
commenters, other situations are not so clear. For example, does sending out 50 postcards that
violate the customer protection rules constitute fifty separate violations or one violation? These
commenters argue that PURA says that each day that a violation continues is a violation so a
violation is an event that occurs daily and not on a per customer basis. Additionally, Joint TDUs
stated that if a rule sets a compliance period as yearly, then another “separate violation” could

only occur on the day that is the end of the next compliance period.

Commission response

Section 22.246(b)(3), which contains the definition of *“violation,” is not one of the
provisions proposed for amendment in this project. Adopting such a definition would alter
the issues raised in the proposed amendment and may not give interested persons adequate
opportunity to comment on the amendment. For this reason, the commission declines to

consider amending the rule as proposed by commenters.

REPC, Joint TDUs and Joint Commenters suggested that the commission should expressly
incorporate mitigating factors in 822.246(c)(3), such as the respondents' efforts to self-police,
self-reporting, efforts to cooperate with the commission, the impact of the penalty on the

respondent’s financial viability, whether the respondent received an economic benefit, and
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others. All of the factors are listed in the Reply Comments of Joint Commenters in the

Consensus Redline (Joint TDUs, Joint REPs, and Joint Commenters).

Commission response
Section 22.246(c)(3) is not one of the provisions proposed for amendment in this project.
Therefore, for the reasons stated above with respect to 822.246(b)(3), the commission

declines to consider amending the rule as proposed by commenters.

REPC, AT&T, Joint TDUs, and EPE in their reply comments, suggested that the commission
should amend subsections (e) and (f). Commenters’ proposed amendments would require
commission staff to submit an investigation report to an entity before issuing a notice of

violation to avoid unwarranted harm to an entity’s reputation.

Commission response
Sections 22.246(e) and (f) are not provisions proposed for amendment in this project.
Therefore, for the reason stated above, with respect to 822.246(b)(3), the commission

declines to consider amending the rule as proposed by commenters.

All comments, including any not specifically referenced herein, were fully considered by the

commission.

This amendment is adopted under the Public Utility Regulatory Act, Texas Utilities Code

Annotated 814.002 and 814.052 (Vernon 1998 & Supplement 2005) (PURA), which provide the
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commission with the authority to make and enforce rules reasonably required in the exercise of
its powers and jurisdiction, including rules of practice and procedure; and specifically, PURA
815.023, which grants the commission authority to assess an administrative penalty in an amount
not to exceed $25,000.00 per violation, provided that a penalty in an amount that exceeds
$5,000.00 may be assessed only if the violation is included in the highest class of violations in

the classification system.

Cross Reference to Statutes: Public Utility Regulatory Act 814.002, 814.052, and §15.023.
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§22.246. Administrative Penalties.

€)) Scope. This section is intended to address enforcement actions related to administrative
penalties only and does not apply to any other enforcement actions that may be

undertaken by the commission or the commission staff.

(b) Definitions. The following words and terms, when used in this section, shall have the
following meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:
1) Executive director — The executive director of the commission or the executive
director's designee.
2 Person — Includes a natural person, partnership of two or more persons having a
joint or common interest, mutual or cooperative association, and corporation.
3) Violation — Any activity or conduct prohibited by the Public Utility Regulatory
Act (PURA), commission rule or commission order.
4) Continuing violation — Except for a violation of PURA Chapter 17, 55, or 64,
and commission rules or commission orders pursuant to those chapters, any
instance in which the person alleged to have committed a violation attests that a
violation has been remedied and was accidental or inadvertent and subsequent
investigation reveals that the violation has not been remedied or was not
accidental or inadvertent.
(©) Amount of penalty.
Q) Each day a violation continues or occurs is a separate violation for which a
penalty can be levied, regardless of the status of any administrative procedures

that are initiated under this subsection.
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(d)

(e)

2 The penalty for each separate violation may be in an amount not to exceed

$25,000 per day, provided that a penalty in an amount that exceeds $5,000 may be

assessed only if the violation is included in the highest class of violations in the

classification system.

3 The amount of the penalty shall be based on:

(A)

(B)
(©)
(D)
(E)
(F)

the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances,
extent, and gravity of any prohibited acts, and the hazard or potential
hazard created to the health, safety, or economic welfare of the public;

the economic harm to property or the environment caused by the violation;
the history of previous violations;

the amount necessary to deter future violations;

efforts to correct the violation; and

any other matter that justice may require, including, but not limited to, the
respondent's timely compliance with requests for information,
completeness of responses, and the manner in which the respondent has
cooperated with the commission during the investigation of the alleged

violation.

Initiation of investigation. Upon receiving an allegation of a violation or of a

continuing violation, the executive director shall determine whether an investigation

should be initiated.

Report of violation or continuing violation. If, based on the investigation undertaken

pursuant to subsection (d) of this section, the executive director determines that a
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(f)

violation or a continuing violation has occurred, the executive director may issue a report

to the commission.

1) Contents of the report. The report shall state the facts on which the

determination is based and a recommendation on the imposition of a penalty,

including a recommendation on the amount of the penalty.

2 Notice of report. Within 14 days after the report is issued, the executive director

shall, by certified mail, return receipt requested, give written notice of the report

to the person who is alleged to have committed the violation or continuing

violation which is the subject of the report. The notice must include:

(A)
(B)
(©)

(D)

(E)

a brief summary of the alleged violation or continuing violation;

a statement of the amount of the recommended penalty;

a statement that the person who is alleged to have committed the violation
or continuing violation has a right to a hearing on the occurrence of the
violation or continuing violation, the amount of the penalty, or both the
occurrence of the violation or continuing violation and the amount of the
penalty;

a copy of the report issued to the commission pursuant to this subsection;
and

a copy of this section, §22.246 of this title (relating to Administrative

Penalties).

Options for response to notice of violation or continuing violation.

1) Opportunity to remedy.
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(A)

(B)

(©)

(D)

(E)

This paragraph does not apply to a violation of PURA Chapters 17, 55, or
64, or of a commission rule or commission order pursuant to those
chapters.

Within 40 days of the date of receipt of a notice of violation set out in
subsection (e)(2) of this section, the person against whom the penalty may
be assessed may file with the commission proof that the alleged violation
has been remedied and that the alleged violation was accidental or
inadvertent. A person who claims to have remedied an alleged violation
has the burden of proving to the commission both that an alleged violation
was remedied before the 31st day after the date the person received the
report of violation and that the alleged violation was accidental or
inadvertent. Proof that an alleged violation has been remedied and that
the alleged violation was accidental or inadvertent shall be evidenced in
writing, under oath, and supported by necessary documentation.

If the executive director determines that the alleged violation has been
remedied, was remedied within 30 days, and that the alleged violation was
accidental or inadvertent, no penalty will be assessed against the person
who is alleged to have committed the violation.

If the executive director determines that the alleged violation was not
remedied or was not accidental or inadvertent, the executive director shall
make a determination as to what further proceedings are necessary.

If the executive director determines that the alleged violation is a

continuing violation, the executive director shall institute further
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(@)

()

(3)

proceedings, including referral of the matter for hearing pursuant to
subsection (h) of this section.
Payment of penalty. Within 30 days after the date the person receives the notice
set out in subsection (e)(2) of this section, the person may accept the
determination and recommended penalty through a written statement sent to the
executive director. If this option is selected, the person shall take all corrective
action required by the commission. The commission by written order shall
approve the determination and impose the recommended penalty.
Request for hearing. Not later than the 20th day after the date the person
receives the notice set out in subsection (e)(2) of this section, the person may
submit to the executive director a written request for a hearing on the occurrence
of the violation or continuing violation, the amount of the penalty, or both the

occurrence of the violation or continuing violation and the amount of the penalty.

Settlement conference. A settlement conference may be requested by any party to

discuss the occurrence of the violation or continuing violation, the amount of the penalty,

and the possibility of reaching a settlement prior to hearing. A settlement conference is

not subject to the Texas Rules of Evidence or the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure;

however, the discussions are subject to Texas Rules of Civil Evidence 408, concerning

compromise and offers to compromise.

1)

If a settlement is reached:
(A)  the parties shall file a report with the executive director setting forth the

factual basis for the settlement;
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(h)

(B) the executive director shall issue the report of settlement to the
commission; and
(C)  the commission by written order will approve the settlement.
(2 If a settlement is reached after the matter has been referred to SOAH, the matter
shall be returned to the commission. If the settlement is approved, the
commission shall issue an order memorializing commission approval and setting

forth commission orders associated with the settlement agreement.

Hearing. If a person requests a hearing under subsection (f)(3) of this section, or fails to
respond timely to the notice of the report of violation or continuing violation provided
pursuant to subsection (e)(2) of this section, or if the executive director determines that
further proceedings are necessary, the executive director shall set a hearing, provide
notice of the hearing to the person, and refer the case to SOAH pursuant to §22.207 of
this title (relating to Referral to State Office of Administrative Hearings). The case shall
then proceed as set forth in paragraphs (1)-(5) of this subsection.
1) The commission shall provide the SOAH administrative law judge a list of issues
or areas that must be addressed.
2 The hearing shall be conducted in accordance with the provisions of this chapter.
3) The SOAH administrative law judge shall promptly issue to the commission a
proposal for decision, including findings of fact and conclusions of law, about:

(A)  the occurrence of the alleged violation or continuing violation;
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(4)

(5)

(B)

(©)

whether the alleged violation was cured and was accidental or inadvertent
for a violation of any chapter other than PURA Chapters 17, 55, or 64, or
of a commission rule or commission order pursuant to those chapters; and

the amount of the proposed penalty.

Based on the SOAH administrative law judge's proposal for decision, the

commission may:

(A)

(B)

(©)

determine that a violation or continuing violation has occurred and impose
a penalty;

determine that a violation occurred but that, pursuant to subsection (f)(1)
of this section, the person remedied the violation within 30 days and
proved that the violation was accidental or inadvertent, and that no penalty
will be imposed; or

determine that no violation or continuing violation has occurred.

Notice of the commission's order issued pursuant to paragraph (4) of this

subsection shall be provided under the Government Code, Chapter 2001 and

§22.263 of this title (relating to Final Orders) and shall include a statement that

the person has a right to judicial review of the order.
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This agency hereby certifies that the adoption has been reviewed by legal counsel and
found to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal authority. It is therefore ordered by the Public
Utility Commission of Texas that 822.246 relating to Administrative Penalties is hereby adopted

with no changes to the text as proposed.

ISSUED IN AUSTIN, TEXAS ON THE DAY OF SEPTEMBER 2006.

PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION OF TEXAS

PAUL HUDSON, CHAIRMAN

JULIE PARSLEY, COMMISSIONER

BARRY T. SMITHERMAN, COMMISSIONER
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