Subchapter P. EMERGENCY ORDERS FOR WATER AND SEWER UTILITIES.

§22.296. Additional Requirements for Emergency Rate Increases.

(@)

(b)

(©

(d)

If an emergency rate increase is granted pursuant to §24.14(a)(4) of this title (relating to Emergency
Orders and Emergency Rates), the commission shall schedule a hearing and establish a final rate prior
to the expiration of the emergency rate order. The final rate must be established and implemented no
more than 15 months after the emergency rate increase takes effect.

A utility is required to provide notice of the hearing to establish a final rate set pursuant to subsection
(a) of this section to all customers at least ten days before the date of the hearing. A copy of the notice
shall also be filed with the commission along with a signed affidavit as proof that the notice was
provided.

A request for an emergency rate increase must be filed by the utility in accordance with, and must
contain the information required by §22.295 of this title (relating to Request for Emergency Order) and
must also contain the following:

1) the effective date of the rate increase;
2 sufficient information to support the computation of the proposed rates; and
3) any other information requested by the commission.

A utility receiving authorization for an emergency rate increase shall provide notice of the increase to
each ratepayer within ten days of issuance of the order, or before the next billing cycle in which the rate
will be in effect, whichever is first. The notice shall comply with the notice requirements set forth in
§22.293(d) of this title (relating to Notification of Emergency Order) and shall also contain the

following:

1) the utility's name and address, the previous rates, the emergency rates, the effective date of the
rate increase, and the classes of utility customers affected; and

2 this statement: "This emergency rate increase has been approved by the Public Utility

Commission of Texas under authority granted by the Texas Water Code §13.4133 to ensure
the provision of continuous and adequate service to the utility's customers. The commission
is also required to schedule a hearing to establish a final rate within 15 months after the date
on which the emergency rates take effect. The utility is required to provide notice of the
hearing to all customers at least ten days before the date of the hearing. The additional
revenues collected under this emergency rate increase are subject to refund if the commission
finds that the rate increase was larger than necessary to ensure continuous and adequate
service."
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