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The Public Utility Commission of Texas (commission) proposes an amendment to §25.43, relating 

to Provider of Last Resort (POLR).  The proposed amendment will modify the structure and the 

mechanics of Provider of Last Resort service to take into account changed circumstances in the 

competitive market, the end of the Price to Beat period on January 1, 2007, and to reflect the 

experience gained from prior Provider of Last Resort service.  This rule is a competition rule 

subject to judicial review as specified in PURA §39.001(e).  Project Number 31416 is assigned to 

this proceeding. 

 

Matthew Troxle, Director of the Retail Market Oversight Section, Electric Industry Oversight 

Division, has determined that for each year of the first five-year period the proposed section is in 

effect there will be no fiscal implications for state or local government as a result of enforcing or 

administering the section. 

 

Mr. Troxle has determined that for each year of the first five years the proposed section is in 

effect the public benefit anticipated as a result of enforcing the amended section will be that 

electricity prices for customers receiving service from the Provider of Last Resort will better 

reflect the cost to provide the service.  There will be no adverse economic effect on small 
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businesses or micro-businesses as a result of enforcing this section.  There is no anticipated 

economic cost to persons who are required to comply with the section as proposed. 

 

Mr. Troxle has also determined that for each year of the first five years the proposed section is in 

effect there should be no effect on a local economy, and therefore no local employment impact 

statement is required under Administrative Procedure Act (APA), Texas Government Code 

§2001.022. 

 

The commission staff will conduct a public hearing on this rulemaking, if requested pursuant to 

the Administrative Procedure Act, Texas Government Code §2001.029, at the commission's 

offices located in the William B. Travis Building, 1701 North Congress Avenue, Austin, Texas 

78701 on Friday, April 7, 2006, at 8:00 a.m.  The request for a public hearing must be received 

within 21 days after publication. 

 

Comments on the proposed amendment may be submitted to the Filing Clerk, Public Utility 

Commission of Texas, 1701 North Congress Avenue, P.O. Box 13326, Austin, Texas 78711-

3326, within 21 days after publication.  Sixteen copies of comments to the proposed amendment 

are required to be filed pursuant to §22.71(c) of this title.  Reply comments may be submitted 

within 31 days after publication.  Comments should be organized in a manner consistent with the 

organization of the proposed rule.  The commission invites specific comments regarding the costs 

associated with, and benefits that will be gained by, implementation of the proposed section.  The 

commission will consider the costs and benefits in deciding whether to adopt the section.  All 
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comments should refer to Project Number 31416 - POLR.  The commission will also accept 

comments on the following questions: 

 

1.  In regard to the proposed POLR rate, what is the appropriate “MCPE multiplier” to be 

applied as the “X%” in the POLR rate formula? 

2.  In regard to the proposed POLR rate, what are the appropriate monthly customer charges 

or demand charges? 

3.  In regard to the proposed POLR rate, how far in advance of billing does the rate need to 

be calculated?  Does a customer who is to be transitioned to POLR need to know the rate 

at that time or is it appropriate for the rate to be calculated after service is rendered, but 

before a bill is issued? 

4.  In regard to the small non-residential greater than or equal to 50 kW customer class, what 

are the appropriate customer protection rules to be waived? 

5.  In regard to the eligibility criteria to serve as a POLR, are the proposed 1% threshold 

values too low (or too high)? 

6.  In regard to the eligibility criteria to serve as a POLR, what should be the minimum 

financial qualifications that a REP must demonstrate to the Commission? 

7.  Should customers who are served by a POLR provider because their chosen REP is no 

longer serving them be able to request an out of cycle meter read without being charged 

the applicable transmission and distribution utility discretionary charge for the service?  If 

so, what is the appropriate cost recovery methodology that should be used to compensate 

the transmission and distribution utility for performing the service? 
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8.  Is the selection methodology appropriate for volunteer POLR REPs and, if not, how 

should it be modified to encourage REP participation? 

 

This amendment is proposed under the Public Utility Regulatory Act, Texas Utilities Code 

Annotated §14.002 (Vernon 1998, Supplement 2005) (PURA), which provides the Public Utility 

Commission with the authority to make and enforce rules reasonably required in the exercise of its 

powers and jurisdiction. 

 

Cross Reference to Statutes: Public Utility Regulatory Act §39.202. 
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§25.43.  Provider of Last Resort (POLR). 

(a) Purpose. The purpose of this section is to ensure that, as mandated by the Public Utility 

Regulatory Act (PURA) §39.106: 

(1) A basic, standard retail service package will be offered by a POLR or multiple 

POLRs at a fixed, non-discountable rate to any requesting customer in all of the 

Texas transmission and distribution utilities' (TDU's) service areas that are open to 

competition; and 

(2) (No change.) 

(b) Application; termination of service for non-payment.  

(1) (No change.) 

(2) Until the expiration of the price to beat period, POLR service for a residential or 

small non-residential customer of a competitive REP whose electric service is 

terminated for non-payment under the provisions of §25.482 of this title (relating 

to Termination of Contract) shall be provided by the  affiliated REP for that POLR 

area.  In the case of the territory encompassed by Sharyland Utilities, LP, the 

affiliated REP shall be deemed to be First Choice Power, Inc., the entity providing 

default service in that area.  The provisions of this section do not apply to any 

affiliated REP serving non-paying residential and small non-residential customers 

of competitive REPs except as otherwise specifically stated herein.  Upon the 

expiration of the price to beat period, a customer whose electric service is 

terminated for non-payment under the provisions of §25.482 of this title shall be 
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provided by the volunteer POLR REPs first and the non-volunteering POLR 

providers second. 

(3) As of September 24, 2002, a  non-paying residential or small non-residential 

customer of an affiliated REP shall  not be transferred to the POLR selected under 

this section. 

(4) A large non-residential customer whose service is terminated for non-payment 

shall not be transferred to the POLR after September 24, 2002.  Notwithstanding 

the foregoing, a non-paying large non-residential customer may be transferred to 

the POLR if that customer is receiving service under a contract entered into prior 

to September 24, 2002, the original term of which has not expired at the time 

transfer to POLR is requested, and if the contract makes no provision for waiver 

of the customer's right to be transferred to the POLR for non-payment.POLR 

service is intended to provide continuity of service.  The POLR rate must reflect 

the inherent level of risk associated with POLR service.  POLR service is 

envisioned as a temporary service and the POLR rate is not intended to be a 

competitive offering, but a cost and risk based offering. 

(c) Definitions.  The following words and terms when used in this section shall have the 

following meaning, unless the context indicates otherwise:  

(1)-(4) (No change.) 

(5) Load ratio — The amount of load for a particular customer class served by a REP 

on a nationwide basis in comparison to the amount of load for that class in areas in 

Texas where customer choice is in effect.  This determination is to be made by 
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dividing the REP's nationwide total megawatt-hour sales to the customer class 

during the prior year by the total megawatt-hour sales to such class in areas in 

Texas where customer choice was in effect during any portion of the prior year. 

(5)(6) Non-discountable rate — A rate that does not allow for any deviation from the 

price offered to all customers within a class, except as provided in §25.454 of this 

title (relating to Rate Reduction Program). 

(6)(7) POLR area — The service area of a TDU in an area where customer choice is in 

effect, except that the POLR area for AEP-Texas Central Central Power and Light 

Company shall be deemed to include the area served by Sharyland Utilities, L.P. 

(7)(8) Provider of last resort (POLR) — A REP certified in Texas that has been 

designated by the commission to provide a basic, standard retail service package in 

accordance with this section to customers that are not being served by a REP for 

reasons other than non-payment.  There may be multiple POLR providers in a 

TDU service area. 

(8)(9) Residential customer — Retail customers classified as residential by the 

applicable transmission and distribution utility tariff or, in the absence of 

classification under a residential rate class, those retail customers that are primarily 

end users consuming electricity for personal, family, or household purposes and 

who are not resellers of electricity.A residential customer as defined in §25.41 of 

this title (relating to the Price to Beat). 

(9)(10) Small non-residential customer less than 50 kilowatts (kW) — A non-

residential retail customer having a peak demand of less than 50 kW.A small 

commercial customer as defined in §25.41 of this title. 
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(10) Small non-residential customer greater than or equal to 50 kW — A non-

residential retail customer having a peak demand of 50 kW, but less than 1,000 

kW. 

(d) POLR service.  

(1) For the purpose of POLR service, there will be four three classes of customers: 

residential, small non-residential less than 50 kW, small non-residential greater 

than or equal to 50 kW, and large non-residential.  

(2) The POLRsPOLR may be designated to serve any or all of the four three customer 

classes in a POLR area.  Within the customer class it is designated to serve, the 

POLRsPOLR shall provide service to the following customers: 

(A)-(B) (No change.) 

(3) The POLRsPOLR shall offer a basic, standard retail service package, which will be 

limited to:  

(A)-(E) (No change.) 

(4) The POLRsPOLR shall, in accordance with §25.108 of this title (relating to 

Financial Standards for Retail Electric Providers Regarding the Billing and 

Collection of Transition Charges), provide billing and collection dut ies for REPs 

who have defaulted on payments to the servicer of transition bonds or to TDUs.  

(e) Standards of service. 

(1) (No change.) 

(2) A POLR shall serve any customer according to the Standard Terms of Service in 

subsection (f)(1) of this section for any customer’s respective customer class as 
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described in subsection (d)(2) of this section, except that volunteer POLR REPs 

may charge a rate less than the POLR rate. 

(3)(2) A POLR shall abide by the applicable customer protection rules as provided for 

under Subchapter R of this chapter.  In addition, the POLR shall be held to the 

following general standards: 

(A) The POLRsPOLR shall inform any customer transferred to it, that the 

POLR it is now providing service to the customer and shall disclose all 

charges for which the customer will be responsible;  

(B) The non-volunteer POLRsPOLR shall provide a commission-maintained 

list of certified REPs to every any customer who inquires about selecting a 

provider; and, 

(C) The POLRsPOLR may not require that a customer sign up for a minimum 

term as a condition of service, except that if the POLR offers a level or 

average payment plan in accordance with Subchapter R of this chapter, a 

residential or small non-residential customer who elects to receive receive 

service under such plan may be required to sign up for a minimum term of 

no more than six months. 

(D) The POLRs shall inform customers that the customer may accelerate a 

switch to another REP by requesting a “special or out-of-cycle meter read” 

and paying the applicable transmission and distribution utility charge for the 

meter read.   

(f) Customer information. 
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(1) Forms.  The standard terms of service prescribed forms in 

subparagraphssubparagraph (A)-(C) of this paragraph  are effective for all POLR 

service rendered after December 31, 2002.  These forms may only be changed 

through the rulemaking process and are available in the commission's Central 

Records Division and on the commission's website at www.puc.state.tx.us. 

(A) Standard Terms of Service Agreement, Provider of Last Resort (POLR) 

Residential Service: 

  

(B) Standard Terms of Service Agreement, Provider of Last Resort (POLR) 

Small Non-Residential Service: 

Figure:  16 TAC §25.43(f)(1)(A) 

  

(C) Standard Terms of Service Agreement, Provider of Last Resort (POLR) 

Large Non-Residential Service: 

Figure:  16 TAC §25.43(f)(1)(B) 

  

(2) Provision of information to customers.  The POLRsPOLR shall provide each 

new customer the standard terms of service agreement applicable to the specific 

customer.   Such standard terms of service agreements shall be updated as required 

under §25.475(d) of this title (relating to Information Disclosures to Residential 

and Small Commercial Customers.) 

Figure:  16 TAC §25.43(f)(1)(C) 

(g) General description of POLR selection process. 

(1) All REPs shall provide information to the commission in accordance with 

subsection (h)(1) of this section.  Based on this information, the commission’s 
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designated representativePOLR selected for areas where customer choice is in 

effect.  The commission shall designate certified REPs that are eligible to serve as 

POLRs in areas of the State in which customer choice is in effect, except that the 

commission shall not designate POLRsthe POLR in the service areas of MOUs or 

electric cooperatives unless an electric cooperative has delegated its POLR 

designation authority to the commission in accordance with subsection (p) of this 

section. 

(2) Process.  The commission will select REPs that will provide solicit bids for POLR 

service for two-year terms as specified in paragraph (3) of this subsection.  

TheBids shall be solicited from REPs that are eligible to provide POLR service 

under the provisions of subsection (h) of this section.  The process for evaluating 

such bids is specified in subsection (i) of this section and the basis upon which bids 

shall be compared is specified in subsection (k)(3) of this section.  If no eligible 

bids for a POLR customer class in a POLR area are submitted, the POLR shall be 

selected by lottery under the procedures set forth in subsection (j) of this section 

and the POLR rate shall be established under the provisions of subsection (k) of 

this section. 

(3) Term.  POLRs shall serve two-year terms beginning in January of each odd-

numbered year.  The initial term for POLR service in areas of the state where retail 

choice is not in effect as of the effective date of the rule shall be set at the time 

POLRs are initially selected in such areas.   
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(h) REP eligibility to serve as POLR.  In each even-numbered year, the commission shall 

determine the eligibility of certified REPs to serve as a POLR for the terms scheduled to 

commence in January of the next year. 

(1) All REPs shall Information requirements.  The commission may require a REP 

and its affiliates to provide information to the commission necessary to establish 

their that REP's eligibility to serve as POLR.  All REPs shall file, by July 10th, of 

each even numbered year, by service area, information on the classes of customers 

they provide service to, and the number of customers they serve.  They shall also 

provide information on their capabilities to provide service to additional 

customers, their financial condition, and whether they are interested in providing 

POLR service as a volunteer POLR REP, and, if so, the customer classes and areas 

where they are interested in providing the service.  Specific information received 

from a REP under this subsection that is responsive to such a request by the 

commission shall be treated confidentially if it is submitted to the commission in 

accordance with the provisions of §22.71(d) of this title (relating to Filing of 

Pleadings, Documents and Other Materials).  However, the commission's 

determination regarding eligibility of a REP to serve as POLR under the provisions 

of this section shall not be considered confidential information. 

(2) Eligibility to be designated as a POLR is specific to POLR area and customer 

class.  Criteria.  During the term of the price to beat for a particular customer 

class, an  affiliated REP is ineligible to serve as POLR for that class in the POLR 

area defined by the boundaries of its affiliated TDU, unless the affiliated REP  

submits a bid to provide POLR service in the POLR area defined by the boundaries 
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of its affiliated TDU at the price to beat.  A REP is also ineligible to provide POLR 

service to a particular customer class in a POLR area if: 

(A) A proceeding to revoke or suspend the REP's certificate is pending at the 

commission, the  or that REP's certificate has been suspended or revoked 

by the commission, or the REP’s certificate is deemed suspended pursuant 

to §25.107( i) of this title (relating to Certification of REPs); 

(B) The REP’s total meters served for the particular class is less than 1.0% of 

the total meters in the TDU service area for that customer classThe REP's 

load ratio for the particular class is  less than  1.0%; 

(C) The REP total customers served for the particular class is less than 1.0% of 

the total customers in the POLR area for that customer class; 

(D)(C) The commission does not reasonably expect the   REP to  be able to meet 

the criteria set forth in subparagraph (B) of this paragraph during the 

entirety of the POLR term; 

(E)(D) On the expected date of the commencement of the POLR termbid 

submittal, the REP or its predecessor, including a REP that has assumed 

the responsibilities of another REP, will not have served customers in 

Texas for at least 18 months; 

(F)(E) The REP is not certificated to serve or does not serve the applicable 

customer class, or does not have an agreement with the service area TDUin 

Texas;  

(G)(F) The REP's customers are limited to its own affiliates; or 
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(H)(G) The REP is certified only to provide POLR service for an affiliate.  A REP 

that files an affidavit stating that it does not serve customers subject to the 

customer protection rules, and should therefore be considered ineligible to 

provide POLR service, may opt-out of eligibility for the small non-

residential less than 50 kW customer class; 

(I) A REP files an affidavit stating that it does not serve small non-residential 

customers in either class, except for the low-usage sites of the REP’s large 

non-residential customers, or commonly owned or franchised affiliates of 

the REP’s large non-residential customers, and should therefore be 

considered ineligible to provide POLR service, may opt-out of eligibility 

for either of the small non-residential customer classes; or, 

(J) The REP does not meet certain minimum financial qualifications as 

determined by the commission.  

(3) Publication of notice of eligibility.  For each POLR term scheduled to commence 

in January of the next year, except for the year 2003, the commission shall publish 

the names of all of the REPs eligible to provide POLR service for each customer 

class in each POLR area.  A REP may challenge its eligibility determination within 

five business days of the notice of eligibility only by submitting to commission staff 

additional documentation showing that the data upon which its initial eligibility 

determination was made is incorrect and that the errors resulted in an incorrect 

eligibility status.  commission staff shall verify the additional documentation and, if 

accurate, recalculate the REP’s eligibility.  Commission staff will notify the REP of 

any change in eligibility status within 10 business days of the receipt of the 
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additional documentation.  A REP may then appeal to the commission through a 

contested case if the REP does not agree with the staff determination of eligibility.  

The contested status will not delay the volunteer POLR list or the selection of the 

POLR providers.  The notice shall be published in the Texas Register prior to or 

contemporaneously with publication of the invitation for bids.  For 2003, only 

affiliated REPs shall be considered eligible REPs. 

(4) A REP that is serving as a POLR provider in accordance with this section shall 

submit reports not later than March 1 and September 1 of each year providing the 

information specified in paragraph (2) of this subsection. 

(i) Volunteer POLR REP list.  Based on the information provided in accordance with this 

subsection and subsection (h) of this section, the commission shall post on its webpage the 

REPs that are willing to serve as POLR on a volunteer basis.  REPs may submit an 

indication of their willingness to voluntarily serve as POLR no earlier than June 1 and no 

later than July 31 of each even-numbered year.  The order in which customers shall be 

transferred to the volunteer POLR REPs shall be inverse order of market share as it exists 

when the volunteer POLR REP list is created, meaning the REP with the smallest market 

share at the time the volunteer POLR REP list is created, shall be first on the volunteer 

POLR REP list.Bid process. Initially, a competitive bid process will be used to select the 

POLR for each customer class in each designated POLR area.   

(1) A volunteering POLR REP shall provide to the commission the name of the REP, 

the appropriate contact person with current contact information, which customer 

classes the REP is willing to serve within each POLR area, and the estimated 
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amount of load the REP is willing to serve by customer class and POLR area.  

Invitation to bid.  Before the expiration of a term of POLR service in a POLR area, 

the commission shall issue an invitation for bids for POLR service for each 

customer class in the POLR area.  Notice of the bid invitation, any submission 

requirements, the submission deadline, and the project number assigned to the bid 

process for that POLR area shall be published in the Texas Register.  A separate 

project number shall be designated for each POLR area. 

(2) Bidder qualifications.  A REP that has met the eligibility requirements of 

subsection (h) of this section shall be eligible for the volunteer POLR REP 

listconsidered a qualified bidder. 

(3) A volunteer POLR REP shall not charge its POLR customers a rate higher than 

the POLR rate for POLR service.  A volunteer REP may market to its POLR 

customers rates lower than the POLR rate.  The volunteer POLR REP, in any 

marketing to the POLR customer, shall make it clear that the customer has the 

right to switch to a different REP or take service from the volunteer POLR REP 

under a rate other than the rate set out in the standard terms of service, if the 

POLR offers such a rate.  A customer may agree to a long-term contract with the 

POLR REP, but the POLR REP shall not represent to the customer that agreeing 

to a long-term contract is the only option to avoid the POLR rate. Submission of 

bids. 

(A) Separate bids required.  A bidder may submit a bid to serve any of the three 

customer classes in a POLR area.  Bids for each customer class in a POLR 

area shall be submitted separately.  A REP may submit a separate bid for 
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POLR service for each customer class and POLR area for which it seeks to 

provide service. 

(B) Filing and content.  Each bid shall be filed in the appropriate project 

number on or before the date and time specified in the bid invitation; 

identify only one POLR area; specify only one customer class; include a bid 

in conformance with the rate structure for the class; and not contain any 

information that will be considered, after the closing date for submission of 

all bids, to be confidential or proprietary by the filing party. 

(C) Designation of preference.  A REP whose load ratio for a particular class is 

less than 5.0% that submits more than one bid for POLR service for that 

class may include in its bid a statement indicating its order of preference in 

POLR areas.  

(4) Upon the transition of customers to the POLRs, ERCOT shall use the volunteer 

REP list to assign customers to the volunteer POLR REPs in a non-discriminatory 

fashion, before assigning customers to the non-volunteering POLR providers.  

Customers shall be assigned to the volunteer POLR REPs in the order that they 

appear on the volunteer POLR list, and the volunteer POLR REP shall not be 

assigned more load than it has indicated that it is willing to serve.  A sequential 

electronic service identifier (ESI ID) methodology or other non-discriminatory 

methodology shall be employed to ensure non-discriminatory assignment of 

customers to the volunteer POLR REPs.Filing under seal.  Prior to the closing date 

specified in the bid invitation, bids must be filed under seal for the limited purpose 

of ensuring the confidentiality of the bids submitted. 
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(5) A volunteer POLR REP may file a request to be removed from the volunteer 

POLR REP list or to modify the estimated amount of load it is willing to serve at 

any time, and such a request shall be effective 30 days after the request is filed with 

the commission.Bid opening and public comment. 

(A) All bids filed under seal shall be opened and filed publicly by commission 

staff in the applicable project number by 5:00 p.m. on the third business day 

following the submission date identified in the bid invitation. 

(B) If the bid opening is cancelled, the bids filed under seal will be returned 

unopened to the bidders. 

(C) Interested persons may submit comments on bids in the applicable project 

up to the 10th calendar day after the bid submission deadline specified in 

the bid invitation.  Interested  persons may submit reply comments on bids 

up to the 15th calendar day after the submission  

deadline specified in the invitation.  All comments and reply comments shall be 

filed in the applicable project. 

(6) Evaluation of bids. 

(A) Bids that have been rejected pursuant to subparagraph (B) of this 

paragraph shall not be evaluated.  The bids received for each customer 

class in each POLR area shall be evaluated on the basis of price in 

accordance with the provisions of subsection (k)(3) of this section.  If two 

or more bidders bid the same lowest price, the lowest bidder shall be 

determined by lottery in accordance with the provisions of subsection (j) of 

this section, with the pool of lottery candidates limited to the bidders 
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submitting tie bids.  If, with respect to a particular class of customers, a 

bidder described in paragraph (3)(C) of this subsection submits the lowest 

bid for that class of customers in two or more POLR areas, staff shall 

determine that the bidder submitted the lowest price in the POLR area 

according to the preference statement submitted by the bidder with its bids.  

If the bidder did not state a preference or the preferences stated are 

irreconcilable, the bidder shall be deemed to prefer to serve in the POLR 

area to which the lowest project number has been assigned.  

(B) The commission shall reject a bid for any of the following reasons: 

(i) The bidder is not qualified. 

(ii) The bid was received by the commission after the date and time specified 

in the bid invitation. 

(iii) The bid did not conform to a requirement described in the bid invitation. 

(iv) The rate structure submitted in the bid deviated from the rate structure 

applicable to the customer class or the bid price exceeds the maximum 

level specified in subsection (k)(3) of this section. 

(v) The bidder asserts to the commission that the bid contains information 

considered, after the closing date for submission of all bids, to be 

confidential or proprietary. 

(vi) In the event a bidder described in paragraph (3)(C) of this subsection 

submits two or more bids for the same customer class in different POLR 

areas then all bids from that bidder for that customer class, other than the 

preferred bid, shall be rejected. 
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(7) Report to the commission.  Staff shall report on the bid process for each POLR 

area to the commission.  The report shall identify the POLR customer classes and 

POLR areas for which no bids were submitted.  The report shall also identify all 

rejected bids and state the reason why each bid was rejected, describe conforming 

bids, and summarize the comments and reply comments received.  For each 

customer class in each POLR area, the report shall include a recommendation by 

staff that POLR service be awarded to the bidder that offered the lowest price in a 

conforming bid or that the POLR for a given customer class and POLR area 

should be selected by lottery because no eligible bids were received. 

(8) Commission action.  For a particular POLR class and POLR area, the commission 

shall either award a bid consistent with the provisions of this section or reject all 

bids and direct that the POLR for that customer class and POLR area be 

determined by lottery. 

(j) Non-volunteering POLR providersLottery.  The provisions of this subsection shall 

govern the manner in which the non-volunteering POLRs a lottery to select a POLR for a 

given POLR area and customer class areis selectedconducted. 

(1) The REPs eligible to serve as POLRs shall be as determined based on the 

information provided by REPs in accordance with subsection (h) of this 

section.Lottery candidacy.  The commission shall designate a pool of lottery 

candidates for each customer class in each POLR service area.  Every REP eligible 

to serve as a POLR is a candidate for the lottery unless: 
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(A) By virtue of having successfully bid for POLR service, the REP will be 

serving as POLR for that customer class in two or more service areas in 

January of the next year; or 

(B) The REP's load ratio for the customer class is less than 5.0% and the REP 

will be serving as POLR for the customer class in another area during the 

upcoming POLR term 

(2) In each POLR area, for each POLR customer class there shall be five non-

volunteering POLR providers.  The non-volunteering POLR providers shall be the 

five eligible REPs that have the greatest market share of customer load by 

customer class within the POLR area.  The commission shall designate the non-

volunteering POLR providers by October of the year preceding the POLR term, 

based upon the data the commission has at the time of the 

determination.Elimination from lottery pool.  A REP otherwise eligible for the 

lottery pool that will be serving a particular customer class as POLR during the 

upcoming term in the POLR area defined by the boundaries of CenterPoint Energy 

Houston Electric shall be eliminated from the lottery pool for that class for the 

POLR area defined by the boundaries of the Oncor Electric Delivery Company.  

Similarly, a REP otherwise eligible for the lottery pool that will be serving a 

particular customer class as POLR during the upcoming term in the POLR area 

defined by the boundaries of the Oncor Electric Delivery Company shall be 

eliminated from the lottery pool for that class for the POLR area defined by the 

boundaries of CenterPoint Energy Houston Electric. 
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(3) In the event of a transition of customers to POLR service, customers shall be 

allocated to the non-volunteering POLR providers only after the volunteer POLR 

REP list has been exhausted.  The customers to be transitioned to the non-

volunteering POLR providers shall be allocated to the non-volunteering POLR 

providers in a non-discriminatory fashion, in accordance with the percentage of 

market share of customer load, as determined in paragraph (2) of this subsection, 

by POLR area and customer class.  If a REP that is designated as a non-

volunteering POLR provider also volunteers as a volunteer POLR REP, the 

amount of load allocated to the REP on a non-volunteer basis shall be reduced by 

the amount of load served by the REP on a volunteer POLR REP basis.  A 

sequential ESI ID methodology or other non-discriminatory methodology shall be 

employed to ensure non-discriminatory assignment of customers to the non-

volunteering POLR providers.Drawing.  At a time and date noticed by the 

commission in the Texas Register, a separate drawing will be held for each 

customer class in each POLR area for which a POLR was not selected by bid.  The 

drawings shall be held in the order of the project numbers assigned to the POLR 

service areas and interested persons may attend.  The names of the lottery 

candidates shall be written on separate pieces of paper of identical size and color.  

A staff member shall place the names of the lottery candidates in a receptacle.  A 

commission representative shall draw a piece of paper from the receptacle.  The 

REP whose name is written on the piece of paper shall serve as the POLR for that 

customer class in that POLR area at the rate specified in subsection (k)(4) of this 

section.   
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(k) POLR rate. 

(1) The provisions of this paragraph establish the maximum POLR rate of volunteer 

POLRs and the POLR rate for non-volunteering POLRs. 

(A) The POLR rate for the residential customer class shall be determined by the 

following formula: 

 

POLR rate (in cents/kWh) = (X% * Zonal Average Monthly MCPE 

Shaped by ERCOT Load Profile * Customer’s Metered Usage) + (Monthly 

Customer Charge or Demand charge) + (TDSP Charges) 

 

Where the “Zonal Average Monthly MCPE shaped by ERCOT Load 

Profile” is a weighted average defined per Weather Zone and Congestion 

Zone, and is reported on the ERCOT website, as: 

 

(B) The POLR rate for the small non-residential customer classes shall be 

determined by the following formula: 

 

POLR rate (in cents/kWh) = (X% * Zonal 30-Day Average MCPE Shaped 

by ERCOT Load Profile * Customer’s Metered Usage) + (Monthly 

Customer Charge or Demand Charge) + (TDSP Charges) 

 

All Intervals

15 Minute Interval Load Based on Appropriate Customer Class Profile *Corresponding 15 Minute Zonal MCPE
Sum of a Month of Interval Load

10

 
 
 

∑
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Where the “Zonal 30-Day Average MCPE Shaped by ERCOT Load 

Profile” is a weighted average defined per Weather Zone and Congestion 

Zone, and is reported on the ERCOT website, as: 

 

 (C) The POLR rate for the large non-residential customer class shall be 

determined by the following formula: 

 

POLR rate (in cents/kWh) = (X% * MCPE Shaped by ERCOT Load 

Profile for Time Customer was Served Shaped by ERCOT Load Profile * 

Customer’s Metered Usage) + (Monthly Customer Charge or Demand 

Charge) + (TDSP Charges) 

 

Where the “MCPE Shaped by ERCOT Load Profile for Time Customer 

was Served Shaped by ERCOT Load Profile” is a weighted average 

defined per Weather Zone and Congestion Zone, and is reported on the 

ERCOT website, as: 

 

 

Components of POLR rate when service awarded by bid.  The provisions of 

this paragraph apply to the POLR rate when POLR service is awarded by bid.  The 

All Intervals

15 Minute Interval Load Based on Appropriate Customer Class Profile *Corresponding 15 Minute Zonal MCPE
Sum of Interval Load for Time Customer is on POLR

10

 
 
 

∑

All Intervals

15 Minute Interval Load Based on Appropriate Customer Class Profile *Corresponding 15 Minute Zonal MCPE
Sum of 30 days of Interval Load

10

 
 
 

∑
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POLR rate for the residential and small non-residential customer classes shall be 

either the price to beat or a rate consisting of non-bypassable charges, a monthly 

customer charge that does not change during the term of the POLR, an energy 

charge, and, for small and large non-residential customers, a demand charge.  For 

residential and small non-residential customers, the applicable standard price to 

beat rate shall be a floor on the POLR rate and the POLR rate may not fall below 

the PTB.  For large non-residential customers, the POLR rate for large non-

residential customers shall consist of non-bypassable charges, a monthly customer 

charge that does not change during the term of the POLR, an energy charge, and a 

demand charge. 

(2) If in response to a complaint or upon its own investigation, the commission 

determines that a POLR failed to charge the appropriate POLR rate, and as a 

result overcharged its customers, the POLR shall issue refunds to the specific 

customers who were overcharged.Elements of a bid. 

(A) Residential customer class.  Each bid for POLR service for the residential 

customer class shall be either a bid to serve customers at the price to beat 

or a bid that includes: 

(i) A monthly customer charge that shall not change during the POLR term 

and that customer charge may be zero dollars; and 

(ii) An energy charge subject to adjustment under the provisions of 

subsection (l) of this section, expressed as cents per kilowatt-hour 

(kWh).  The energy charge may be differentiated into peak months (May 

through October) and off-peak months (November through April). 
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(B) Small non-residential customer class.  Each bid for POLR service for the 

small non-residential class shall be either a bid to serve customers at the 

price to beat or shall include the components for bids for the residential 

customer class as set forth in subparagraph (A) of this paragraph and a 

demand charge that may be zero dollars. 

(C) Large non-residential customer class.  Each bid for POLR service for the 

large non-residential customer class shall include: 

(i) A monthly customer charge that shall not change during the POLR term 

and that customer charge may be zero dollars; 

(ii) A demand charge that may be zero dollars; and  

(iii) The percent over the energy reference price specified by the commission 

that the bidder  

will charge for energy.  For POLR areas in the Electric Reliability 

Council of Texas (ERCOT), the energy reference price shall be the 

market clearing price for energy (MCPE) determined on the basis of 15-

minute intervals.  For POLR areas outside of ERCOT, the commission 

shall specify the energy reference price prior to the inception of retail 

customer choice. 

(3) Comparison and rejection of bids.  Bids for POLR service for residential and small 

non-residential service shall be compared on the basis of price as specified in this 

paragraph. 

(A) Residential customer class.  Bids for POLR service for residential 

customers shall be compared assuming monthly residential energy usage of 
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1000 kWh.  If a bid for POLR service for this average usage level exceeds 

125% of the applicable standard residential price to beat rate for that usage 

level at the time bids are submitted, the bid shall be rejected.  For purposes 

of this rule, the standard residential price to beat rate for residential service 

in each POLR area shall refer to the following price to beat tariffs, as 

amended or replaced: 

 

Service 

Area 

Affiliated REP Tariff 

Oncor TXU Energy Services Rate R — Residential Service 

Centerpoint Reliant Energy 

Services 

Rate PTB-RS —Residential Service 

AEP/CPL Mutual Energy CPL Rate SRS — Standard Residential 

Service 

AEP/WT Mutual Energy WTU Rate RS — Residential Service 

TNMP First Choice Power Residential Service 

 

(B) Small non-residential class.  Bids for POLR service for small non-

residential customers shall be compared assuming a demand level of 35 kW 

and a monthly usage level of 12,500kWh.  If the POLR rates bid for these 

average usage levels exceed 125% of the applicable standard commercial 

price to beat rate for both usage levels at the time bids are submitted, the 

bid shall be rejected.  For purposes of this rule, standard commercial price 
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to beat rate shall refer to the following price to beat tariffs, as amended or 

replaced: 

 

Service Area Affiliated REP Tariff 

Oncor TXU Energy Services Rate GS — General Service 

Secondary 

Centerpoint Reliant Energy Services Rate PTB-MGS — Misc. General 

Service 

AEP/CPL Mutual Energy CPL Rate LPS — Lighting and Power 

Service 

AEP/WTU Mutual Energy WTU Rate GS — General Service 

TNMP First Choice Power General Service 

 

(C) Large non-residential class.  Bids for POLR service for large non-

residential customers shall be compared assuming a monthly demand of 2.5 

MW and a monthly usage level of 1,000,000 kWh.   

(4) POLR rates where POLR selected by lottery.  This paragraph specifies the POLR 

rates that will be charged in a POLR area when the POLR is selected by lottery. 

(A) Residential and small non-residential customer classes.  The rate charged 

by a POLR selected by lottery shall be 125% of the applicable standard 

price to beat rate. 

(B) Large non-residential class.  The rate charged by a POLR selected by 

lottery shall be non-bypassable charges plus 150% of the applicable energy 

reference price as determined under paragraph (2)(C)(iii) of this subsection 
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and a monthly customer charge of $2897.  The minimum energy reference 

price shall be $7.25 per megawatt hour. 

(3)(5) Good cause adjustment to POLR rates.  On a showing of good cause, the 

commission may permit the POLR to adjust the POLR rate, if necessary to ensure 

that the rate is sufficient to allow the POLR to recover its costs of providing 

service.  Notwithstanding any other commission rule to the contrary, POLR rates 

may be adjusted on an interim basis for good cause shown and after at least three 

days' notice and an opportunity for hearing on the request for interim relief.  

Alternatively, the commission may rebid POLR service and relieve the current 

POLR of its POLR responsibilities.  If POLR service is rebid, the process specified 

in subsection (i) of this section shall be followed except that eligible REPs shall be 

those REPs identified in the last list that was published, with the POLR that is 

being relieved of its dut ies deleted from the list.  If the commission elects to rebid 

POLR service and the bid process is unsuccessful, the commission may reconsider 

adjusting the POLR rates or select an alternate POLR provider by lottery in 

accordance with the provisions of subsection (j) of this section. 

(l) Prohibition on serving as POLR.  A POLR REP shall not be obligated to serve a 

customer within a customer class or a POLR area that the POLR REP is not designated as 

a volunteering POLR REP or a non-volunteering POLR provider.  If a POLR REP 

challenges a customer assignment of ERCOT, and the discrepancy cannot be resolved, the 

TDU in the applicable POLR area will determine the customer class and if the customer 

resides within the TDU service area.  The customer will then be served by the appropriate 
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POLR.Adjustment to energy charge component of residential and small non-

residential POLR rates.  The energy charge component of the POLR rate for the 

residential and small non-residential customer classes shall be adjusted as specified in this 

subsection if POLR service was awarded by bid. 

(1) Energy charge component reevaluated monthly.  The energy charge component of 

the POLR rate for the residential and small non-residential customer classes shall 

be recalculated at the end of every month during the POLR term in accordance 

with the provisions of paragraph (2) of this subsection.  If the recalculated energy 

charge varies by more than 5.0% from the time the energy charge was bid or last 

adjusted, then the energy charge of the POLR rate for the following month shall be 

equal to the recalculated energy charge.  If the recalculated energy charge does not 

vary by more than 5.0% from the time the energy charge was bid or last adjusted, 

then the energy charge component shall not be adjusted for the following month.  

All adjustments shall take place during  the first billing cycle of the billing month 

following the recalculation. Adjustments shall not occur during the customer's 

billing month.  The POLR shall submit its monthly rate to the commission at least 

15 days prior to the beginning of the applicable month. 

(2) Energy charge calculation. 

 

EN=EE*GN / GE 

Where: 

EN = recalculated energy charge 

EE = existing energy charge 
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GN = the average of the closing one-month forward New York Mercantile Exchange 

(NYMEX) Henry Hub natural gas prices as reported in the Wall Street Journal for 

the last five trading days of the month ended 30 days prior to the effective date of the 

recalculated energy charge. 

GE = the average of the closing one-month forward NYMEX Henry Hub natural gas prices 

as reported in the Wall Street Journal for the last five business days preceding the 

bid due date for the first gas price adjustment of the POLR term.  For subsequent 

adjustments, GE = the average of the closing one-month forward NYMEX Henry 

Hub natural gas prices as reported in the Wall Street Journal, at the time the existing 

energy charge was last adjusted. 

 

(3) Refunds.  If in response to a complaint or upon its own investigation, the 

commission determines that a POLR failed to properly adjust the energy charge 

component of the POLR rate and as a result overcharged its customers, the 

commission shall require the POLR to issue refunds to the specific customers who 

were overcharged. 

(m) Limitation on liability.  The POLR providers will make reasonable provisions to provide 

POLR service to customers who request POLR service, or are transitioned to POLR 

service, individually or through a mass transition; however, in no event other than gross 

negligence or intentional misconduct, shall the POLR providers be liable to a POLR 

customer, another REP, or any other third party for any consequential, exemplary, special, 

incidental, or punitive damages, including without limitation, lost opportunities or lost 

profits related to providing or preparing to provide POLR service.Marketing to POLR 

customers.  An employee answering the POLR phone line will read from a script to 
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describe POLR service but may market the services of its affiliates  or any other REP that 

has entered into a marketing agreement with the POLR.  The POLR shall not discriminate 

between unaffiliated REPs in the terms and conditions of any such marketing agreement.  

The POLR shall  provide to REPs and aggregators on at least a quarterly basis an updated 

mass customer list of customers served by the POLR containing information similar to the 

information that the registration agent is authorized to release under §25.472 of this title 

(relating to Privacy of Customer Information).  The POLR shall not be required to comply 

with the provisions of §25.472(a)(2) of this title prior to releasing its list of customers 

(n) Transition of customers to POLR service.  

(1) (No change.)  

(2) A customer other than a residential customer or small commercial customer (as 

defined in §25.471(d) of this title (relating to General Provisions of Customer 

Protection Rules) may agree to a contract or terms of service that allow a REP to 

transfer the customer to a POLR for reasons other than non-payment, including 

the failure of the customer and its REP to agree on terms of renewal or extension.  

Unless ERCOT has a transaction that allows REPs to transfer such customers to 

the POLR, the POLR shall accept written requests for such transfers from REPs 

and shall initiate a switch for the customer to be transferred to the POLR.  The 

acquisition by the POLR of such customers is not a prohibited enrollment under 

§25.474 of this title (relating to the Selection or Change of Retail Electric 

Provider).  Further, §25.472(d) of this title (relating to Privacy of Customer 

Information) does not apply to such permitted customer transfers. 
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(3)-(6) (No change.)  

(7) A REP whose customers are transitioned to POLR providers shall return any 

unused portion of a transitioned customer’s deposit within five business days. 

(8) ERCOT shall create a database of customer information that will be populated and 

updated by all REPs to facilitate a mass transition of customers to the POLR 

REPs.  ERCOT shall determine what customer information is necessary to 

populate the database.  All REPs shall comply with the requirements of ERCOT to 

populate and maintain the customer information database.  When a mass transition 

is initiated, the customer information shall be provided to the POLR provider 

gaining the customer no later than five business days from the date of mass 

transition initiation. 

(9) When customers are transitioned to a POLR provider, the POLR provider may 

request usage and demand data from the appropriate TDU and from ERCOT, 

prior to the transition to the POLR provider.  This information shall be provided 

under a confidentiality agreement. 

(10) Information from the TDU and ERCOT to the POLR provider shall be provided in 

Texas SET format.  However, it is allowable to supplement the information to the 

POLR provider in other formats and fashions to expedite the transition to the 

POLR provider.  This transfer of information will not constitute a violation of the 

customer protection rules provided the information is provided under a 

confidentiality agreement. 

(11) A POLR may require a deposit from the customer being transitioned to the POLR 

to continue to serve the customer once the POLR has begun serving the customer.  
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A POLR may request the deposit before the POLR begins serving the customer, 

but the POLR shall begin providing service to the customer even if the service 

initiation date is before the POLR receives the deposit, if any deposit is required, 

and shall not disconnect the customer until the appropriate time period to submit 

the deposit has elapsed.  The POLR provider may waive the deposit requirement if 

the waiver is applied in a non-discriminatory fashion.  The POLR provider shall 

waive the deposit requirement for residential customers if the customer meets the 

qualifications listed in section 2. SECURITY AND BILLING, of the Standard 

Terms of Service. 

(12) On the occurrence of one of the following events, ERCOT shall initiate a mass 

transition of a REP’s customers to the POLR providers: 

(A) Termination of the Load Serving Entity (LSE) or Qualified Scheduling 

Entity (QSE) Agreement with ERCOT; 

(B) Commission Order declaring a REP in default of Tariff for Retail Delivery 

Service; 

(C) Commission Order de-certificating a REP; 

(D) Commission Order requiring a mass transition to POLR providers; and, 

(E) At the request of a REP, for the mass transition of that REP’s customers, 

however, the POLR shall not be used as a means to eliminate non-

profitable contracts. 

(13) ERCOT shall investigate the feasibility of revising the mass transition process so 

that customer transfers in a mass transition are initiated by ERCOT, rather than by 

a REP.  ERCOT shall report its conclusions to the commission and implement the 
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revised process, if directed by the commission.  ERCOT may provide procedures 

for the mass transition process, consistent with this section. 

(14) Until the database described in paragraph (8) of this subsection is complete, a REP 

whose customers are to be transitioned to POLR providers shall provide the 

following information to the appropriate POLR provider.  Providing the 

information to the POLR providers under the conditions of a transition to POLR 

providers shall not constitute a violation of Subchapter R of this chapter: 

(A) REP’s Data Universal Numbering System (DUNS) number; 

(B) Customer’s ESI ID number; 

(C) Customer’s account number with the REP that is losing the customer; 

(D) Customer’s name; 

(E) Customer’s telephone number; 

(F) Customer’s billing “care of” name; 

(G) Customer’s service address; 

(H) Customer’s billing address; 

(I) Customer’s most recent 12 month usage and demand; and, 

(J) Customer’s TDSP charges. 

(o) Termination of POLR status. 

(1) The commission may revoke a REP's POLR status after notice and opportunity for 

hearing: 

(A) If the POLR fails to maintain REP certification; 
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(B) If the POLR fails to provide service in a manner consistent with this 

section; or 

(C) For good cause, provided the commission affords the POLR due process;. 

or, 

(D) The POLR fails to maintain appropriate financial qualifications.   

(2) If a POLR defaults or has its status revoked before the end of its term, after a 

review of the eligibility criteria, the next REP that is still eligible per subsection (h) 

of this section will assume the duties of the former POLR. the commission may 

appoint any certified REP, other than a REP serving only its own affiliates, serving 

a customer class in that area to become the POLR until a new POLR is selected 

pursuant to the provisions of this rule.  The rate for such POLR service shall be the 

rate established pursuant to subsection (k)(4) of this section. 

(3) The provisions of this paragraph address the transition to a new POLR at the end 

of a POLR term. 

(A) (No change.) 

(B) A notice containing the information specified in either subparagraph (C) or 

(D) of this paragraph, as applicable, shall be provided to each POLR 

customer at least 60 days prior to the end of the POLR term.  The notice 

shall be in type no smaller than 12 points in size.  The notice shall satisfy 

the requirements of §25.474(m) of this title in the event that the customer 

fails to switch to another provider and is transferred by the POLR to a 

competitive affiliate of the outgoing POLR or the customer fails to switch 

to another provider and is transferred to the incoming POLR by the 
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outgoing POLR.  The notice shall also include a phone number for the 

outgoing POLR for the customer to call to obtain more information. 

(C) The notice provided by a POLR that elects to transfer customers who fail 

to switch to another provider to a competitive affiliate shall include a 

comparison of the POLR rates currently charged to the customer to the 

rate offered by the competitive affiliate of the outgoing POLR as well as 

the applicable price to beat rate.  The notice shall specify the deposit 

requirements of the competitive affiliate of the outgoing POLR and shall 

state that other providers may also require a deposit and may require 

payment of any amounts owed the provider for services previously 

rendered.  The notice shall state where the customer may find additional 

information about offerings of other providers and shall inform the 

customer that, if the customer does not select another provider or request 

service from the incoming POLR by a specified date, that a competitive 

affiliate of the outgoing POLR will continue to serve the customer at the 

rate specified in the notice.   

(D) (No change.) 

(E) If a POLR customer either requests service from the incoming POLR or is 

terminated to the incoming POLR by the outgoing POLR, the outgoing 

POLR shall offset the customer's final bill against the customer's deposit 

and refund any remaining balance to the customer within 20 days from the 

customer's final meter read date.  The customer shall be entitled to pay the 

deposit required by the incoming POLR in two installments in the manner 
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provided in §25.478(e)(3)§25.478(f)(4) of this title (relating to Credit 

Requirements and Deposits). 

(p) Electric cooperative delegation of authority.  An electric cooperative that has adopted 

customer choice may propose to delegate to the commission its authority to select a 

POLR providers under PURA §41.053(c) in its certificated service area in accordance 

with this section.  After notice and opportunity for comment, the commission will, at its 

option, accept or reject such delegation of authority.  If the commission accepts the 

delegation of authority, the following conditions will apply: 

(1) (No change.) 

(2) The delegation of authority will be made at least 30 days prior to the time the 

commission issues a publication of notice of eligibilityan invitation for bids to 

establish a POLR for a contiguous or surrounding POLR area;  

(3) (No change.) 

(4) The electric cooperative wishing to delegate its authority to designate a POLR will 

also provide the commission with the authority to apply the selection criteria and 

procedures described in this section in selecting the POLR providers within the 

electric cooperative's certificated service area; and 

(5) If there are no competitive REPs offering service in theIf the competitive bidding 

process that includes the electric cooperative certificated area fails, the commission 

will automatically reject the delegation of authority.  

(q) (No change.) 

(r) Waiver of customer protection rules.   
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(1) The provisions of §25.475(e)(d) of this title requiring issuance of a revised terms 

of service statement to customers 45 days prior to any material change in the 

customer's terms of service shall not apply with respect to the implementation of 

the provisions of subsection (b)(3) of this section or §25.483(b) of this title. 

(2) Certain customer protection rules may be waived for the small non-residential 

greater than or equal to 50 kW customer class, pursuant to the Standard Terms of 

Service. 

(s) Notice of Transition to POLR Service.  When a customer is moved to POLR service the 

customer will be provided notice of the transition by the REP transitioning the customer as 

well as by the POLR provider.  Notice shall be provided as soon as the transitioning REP 

knows the customer will be transitioned to POLR service and as soon as the POLR has 

the customer contact information.  The notice of transition to POLR service shall include, 

at a minimum the following items: 

(1) Notice by the REP transitioning the customer: 

(A) The reason for the transition to POLR service; 

(B) A statement that the customer will receive a separate notice from the 

POLR that will disclose the date the POLR provider will begin serving the 

customer; 

(C) A description of how and when any unused customer deposit will be 

returned to the customer; and, 
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(D) The following statement:  “If you would like to choose a different retail 

electric provider, please access www.powertochoose.com for a list of 

providers in your area;” 

(E) If applicable, a description of the activities that the REP will use to collect 

any outstanding payments, including the use of consumer reporting 

agencies, debt collection agencies, small claims court, and other remedies 

allowed by law, if the customer does not pay or make acceptable payment 

arrangements with the REP; and, 

(F) Notice to the customer that the customer may accelerate a switch to 

another REP by requesting a “special or out-of-cycle meter read” and 

paying the applicable transmission and distribution utility charge for the 

meter read.    

(2) Notice by the POLR provider: 

(A) The date the POLR provider will begin serving the customer; 

(B) A description of the POLR pricing mechanism and the current POLR rate; 

(C) The deposit requirements of the customer and any applicable deposit 

waiver provisions; 

(D) The following statement:  “If you would like to choose a different retail 

electric provider, please access www.powertochoose.com for a list of 

providers in your area;” 

(E) The applicable POLR Standard Terms of Service; 

(F) The applicable disconnection procedures; and, 

http://www.powertochoose.com/�
http://www.powertochoose.com/�
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(G) Notice to the customer that the customer may accelerate a switch to 

another REP by requesting a “special or out-of-cycle meter read” and 

paying the applicable transmission and distribution utility charge for the 

meter read. 

(t) Disconnection by POLR.  The POLR provider must comply with the applicable 

customer protection rules as provided for under Subchapter R of this chapter except as 

otherwise stated in this section.    
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Standard Terms of Service Agreement 

Standard Terms of Service Agreement 
 
[Insert POLR Provider Name]  (Certificate No. ____) 
Provider of Last Resort (POLR) Residential Service 

 
 
This Standard Terms of Service Agreement applies to residential customers receiving Provider of Last Resort 
(POLR) service from [insert POLR Provider name] under Public Utility Commission of Texas (PUCT) Retail 
Electric Provider (REP) Certificate No. ____.  These standard terms of service are subject to current and future 
customer protection laws or rules as prescribed by local, state or federal authorities and to changes in applicable 
charges or transmission and distribution service provider (TDSP) rates.  Customers will be notified of material 
changes in these standard terms of service resulting from changes in local, state or federal legislation or rules, 
applicable charges, or TDSP rates, [insert if option A below applies: except for changes in the energy-charge 
component of the price for basic service as described below,] at least 45 days before such changes take effect unless 
otherwise directed by law.  Each Standard Terms of Service Agreement will be given a unique version number for 
quick reference. 
 
SPANISH LANGUAGE (IDIOMA ESPANOL) Si usted  quiere obtener el mismo documento impreso 
detallando los Términos de Servicio en español comunicandose con nosotros al [insert toll-free number]. 
 
 
1. PRICE FOR BASIC FIRM SERVICE 
 
POLR Provider will provide basic firm service, defined as electric service not subject to interruption for economic 
reasons and that does not include value-added options offered in the competitive market.  The rate for your electric 
service from POLR Provider will be based on the formula detailed below.  following [insert if option A applies: 
plus any applicable recurring monthly charges identified below.]  Non-recurring charges (i.e., charges not 
occurring every month) will be billed as they are incurred and are set out in section 3 SERVICE CHARGES AND 
FEES, below. 
 

A. Your rate for POLR service will be derived from the following formula:consist of an energy charge, 
[insert if applicable: monthly customer charge], and non-bypassable charges as described below.  

 
POLR rate (in cents/kWh) = (X% * Zonal Average Monthly MCPE Shaped by ERCOT Load Profile * 

Customer’s Metered Usage) + (Monthly Customer Charge or Demand Charge) + (TDSP Charges) 
 
Where the “Zonal Average Monthly MCPE shaped by ERCOT Load Profile” is a weighted average 

defined per Weather Zone and Congestion Zone, and is reported on the ERCOT website, as: 
 

 
 
Energy charge: The energy charge shall be recalculated at the beginning of each month in 
accordance with the formula provided below.  If the recalculated energy charge varies by more 
than 5% from the existing energy charge, then the energy charge component of your rate for that 
billing month shall be the recalculated charge (see note below).*  If the recalculated energy 
charge does not vary by more than 5% from the existing energy charge, then the energy charge 

All Intervals

15 Minute Interval Load Based on Appropriate Customer Class Profile *Corresponding 15 Minute Zonal MCPE
Sum of a Month of Interval Load

10

 
 
 

∑
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component of your rate for that billing month shall remain unchanged.  The applicable energy 
charge for the billing month will be stated on your monthly bill from POLR Provider.  For 
additional information on the current energy charge, refer to [insert website address] or contact 
POLR Provider at [insert phone number]. 

 
Energy Charge N=Energy Charge E  * Gas Price N / Gas Price E 

Where: 

Energy Charge N= recalculated energy charge 

 

Energy Charge E = existing energy charge 

 
Gas Price N = the average of the closing one-month forward New York Mercantile Exchange 
(NYMEX) Henry Hub natural gas prices as reported in the Wall Street Journal for the last five 
trading days of the month ended 30 days prior to the effective date of the recalculated energy 
charge. 
 
Gas Price E = the average of the closing one-month forward NYMEX Henry Hub natural gas 
prices as reported in the Wall Street Journal for the last five business days preceding the bid due 
date for the first gas price adjustment of the POLR term.  For subsequent calculations, Gas Price 
E = the average of the closing one-month forward NYMEX Henry Hub natural gas prices as 
reported in the Wall Street Journal, at the time the existing energy charge was last adjusted. 
 
*NOTE: If the recalculated energy charge results in the overall POLR price being lower than the 
price-to-beat rate charged by [specify affiliated REP] under [specify applicable tariff], the POLR 
price will be set at the price-to-beat rate for that billing month.  

[If applicable] Monthly customer charge:    [Insert $ amount] 

 
Nonbypassable charges:  These charges are billed to POLR Provider and include, but are not 
limited to: Transmission and Distribution Service Provider’s (TDSP) wires usage and 
miscellaneous discretionary charges, transition to competition (CTC) charges, system benefit 
fund (SBF) payments, taxes or charges from various taxing or regulatory authorities, including 
POLR Provider’s Gross Receipts tax, and other non-bypassable charges. 

 
OR [insert if applicable] 

 
B. [Insert rate = 125% of the applicable price to beat]  This rate is 125% of the 

price-to-beat rate charged by [specify affiliated REP] under [specify applicable 
tariff].  You will be notified of any change in the rate that may result from 
changes in the price-to-beat rate. 

 
2. SECURITY AND BILLING 
  
[PAY-IN-ADVANCE LANGUAGE TO BE INCLUDED IN TOSS AT THE OPTION OF THE POLR 
PROVIDER:  
 
POLR Provider will offer the option to either pay a cash deposit to prevent disconnection after POLR provider has 
begun providing your electric service, secure your service pursuant to subsection (a) CASH DEPOSIT below or to 
choose PAY-IN-ADVANCE BILLING OPTION IN LIEU OF CASH DEPOSIT pursuant to subsection (b) below.] 
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POLR Provider shallmay not require a cash deposit if you are able to provide  the POLR Provider with a Credit 
Reference Letter that includes the following representations: 1) you have been a customer of any retail electric 
provider or the electric utility (prior to 2002) within the two years prior to your request for electric service; 2) you 
are not delinquent in payment of any such electric service account; and 3) you were not late in paying a bill more 
than once during the last 12 consecutive months.  
 
A residential customer shall also may be deemed as having established satisfactory credit and shall not be required 
to pay a cash deposit if the customer possesses a satisfactory credit rating obtained through an accredited credit 
reporting agency. 

If these conditions do not apply, POLR Provider may require a cash deposit unless you can demonstrate to the 
POLR Provider any of the following prior to the due date of the cash deposit: 1) you are 65 years of age or older 
and your account with any retail electric provider or the electric utility (prior to 2002) has not had a delinquent 
balance within the last 12 months for the same type of service; 2) you are a victim of family violence as defined by 
the Texas Family Code § 71.004, by a family violence center, or by treating medical personnel;* or 3) you are 
medically indigent.**  
 
*This determination shall be evidenced by submission of a certification letter developed by the Texas Council on 
Family Violence. The certification letter may be submitted directly by use of the toll-free fax number listed below 
to POLR Provider. 
 
** To be considered medically indigent, the customer must make a demonstration that the following criteria are 
met: the customer’s household income must be at or below 150% of the poverty guidelines as certified by a 
governmental entity or government funded energy assistance program provider, and either of the following must 
apply: (i) the customer or the customer’s spouse has been certified by that person’s physician (for the purposes of 
this subsection, the term “physician” shall mean any medical doctor, doctor of osteopathy, nurse practitioner, 
registered nurse, state-licensed social worker, state-licensed physical and occupational therapist, and an employee 
of an agency certified to provide home health services pursuant to 42 U.S.C. §1395 et seq as being unable to 
perform three or more activities of daily living, as defined in Title 22, Texas Administrative Code, Section 218.2, 
or (ii) the customer’s monthly out-of-pocket medical expenses exceed 20% of the household’s gross income. 
 

a) TRADITIONAL CASH DEPOSIT  
1) Your initial cash deposit, if required, will be based on one-sixth (1/6) of your estimated annual 

billing.  You may also be required, in the future, to pay an initial or additional cash deposit if you 
have been issued a disconnection notice within the last 12 months or if you have been a customer for 
12 months and your billings are more than twice the amount estimated to determine your initial cash 
deposit.  Instead of an additional cash deposit, you may pay the total amount due by the due date of 
the bill, provided you have not exercised this option in the previous 12 months. 

2) Your total cash deposit shall not exceed an amount equivalent to one-sixth (1/6) of your estimated 
annual billing. 

3) POLR Provider may require payment of an initial cash deposit within ten days of receiving 
confirmation from the Registration Agent of the effective date you become a customer of the POLR.  

4) A customer who has applied for or is enrolled currently in LITE UP Texas (Low Income Telephone 
and Electric Utilities Program) may pay the initial cash deposit to POLR Provider in two  
installments.  The first installment shall not exceed the estimated billing for the next month or one-
twelfth (1/12) of the estimated annual billing and shall be due within ten days of POLR Provider’s 
issuance of the written notice requiring the cash deposit.  The second installment for the remainder of 
the cash deposit shall be due within 40 days of the issuance of the original written notice.  For more 
information regarding LITE UP Texas, contact POLR Provider or call toll-free 1-866-4-LITE-UP (1-
866-454-8387) to determine eligibility or to receive an application. 
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5) A written letter of guarantee may be used in lieu of paying a cash deposit.  The guarantor must 
become or remain a customer of the POLR or its affiliated REP for the term in which the guarantee is 
in effect.  If the guarantor fails to become, or ceases to be, a customer of the POLR or its affiliated 
REP, the POLR may require the customer to pay the initial or additional cash deposit as a condition 
of continuing the contract for service.   

6) Upon default by a residential customer, the guarantor of the customer’s account shall be responsible 
for the unpaid balance of the account only up to the agreed amount in the letter of guarantee.   The 
POLR, or its affiliated REP shall provide written notification to the guarantor of the customer’s 
default, the amount owed by the guarantor, and the due date for the amount owed.  The guarantor will 
have 16 days from the date the notice is issued to pay the amount owed on the defaulted account.  If 
the 16th day falls on a holiday or weekend, the due date shall be the next business day.  The POLR or 
its affiliated REP may transfer the amount owed on the defaulted account to the guarantor’s own 
electric service bill provided the guaranteed amount owed is identified separately on the bill. 

7) The POLR or its affiliated REP may initiate disconnection of service to the guarantor for nonpayment 
of the guaranteed amount within ten days of issuance of a notice of disconnection.   

8) Your service may be disconnected for failure to pay a required cash deposit (initial or additional) 
within ten days of issuance of a  notice of disconnection of service.   

9) A disconnection notice may be issued concurrently with either the written request for the initial or 
additional cash deposit or current monthly bill for electric service.  Disconnection means a physical 
interruption of electric service. 

10) You will accrue interest on your cash deposit(s) with POLR Provider. Each year in December, the 
PUCT establishes the interest rate POLR Provider will apply to your cash deposit for the next 
calendar year. 

11) Your cash deposit and accrued interest, less any outstanding balance owed for electric service, will be 
refunded to you upon closing of your account with POLR Provider. 

12) Your cash deposit and accrued interest will be refunded if you pay your bills for 12 consecutive 
months without your service being disconnected for nonpayment and without having more than two 
delinquent payments.   

13) The guarantee agreement will be terminated if you pay your bills for 12 consecutive months without 
your service being disconnected for nonpayment and without having more than two delinquent 
payments within the last 12 months.  

 
b) [PAY-IN-ADVANCE LANGUAGE TO BE INCLUDED IN STANDARD TERMS OF SERVICE AT THE 

OPTION OF POLR PROVIDER] PAY-IN-ADVANCE BILLING OPTION IN LIEU OF CASH 
DEPOSIT 
1) If you select the pay-in-advance option, you will be billed in advance for your electric service after 

POLR Provider receives confirmation from the Registration Agent of the effective date you are to 
become a POLR customer of POLR Provider.  All bills, except the initial one requesting your 
payment in advance, will include, where applicable, the monthly charge, energy charge, non-
bypassable charges, applicable taxes, service charges and other costs as permitted by governmental or 
regulatory authorities. 

2) Your initial pay-in-advance billing will include charges for two months average kilowatt hour 
(kWh)kWh consumption during the prior year and will include, where applicable, an estimate for two 
months of non-bypassable charges, applicable taxes, service charges and other costs as permitted by 
governmental or regulatory authorities.  The pay-in-advance amount will be used in lieu of the cash 
deposit and will be no greater than $200 or less than $75.  The initial pay-in-advance option in lieu of 
cash deposit will be due within ten days of issuance of a notice requiring a pay-in-advance billing.   

3) Pay-in-advance billing requires that you maintain a balance of the two months initial total estimated 
charges for the time that you are a POLR customer and will be billed monthly on approximately 30-
day periods. 
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4) Your bill will be due upon receipt and will be considered delinquent if it is not paid by the 16th 
calendar day after issuance of the bill. 

5) If your pay-in-advance billing exceeds the initial pay-in-advance amount, then the pay-in-advance 
billing amount will be reset to the highest amount for the next billing cycle.  

6) There is no interest accrued on pay-in-advance billing. 
7) If historical usage is not available, POLR Provider in its sole judgment may develop reasonable good 

faith estimates to determine your billing and establish a pay-in-advance billing amount accordingly.  
Estimates will be based on key energy determinants such as square footage, and HVAC type and size.  
Once there is an established history of six months usage, POLR Provider will review the pay-in-
advance amount and adjust it, if necessary. 

8) Billing statements will reflect the total charges for POLR services provided by POLR Provider. 
9) Your service may be disconnected if you fail to pay the required pay-in-advance bill within ten days of 

issuance of a notice of disconnection of service. 
10) A disconnection notice may be issued concurrently with the written request for the required pay-in-

advance bill.  
c) BILLING 

1) You will be billed monthly for your electric service. 
2) Your monthly billing period will be approximately 30 days. 
3) You will be billed monthly after your scheduled monthly meter read date. Billing statements will 

reflect the total charges for POLR services provided by POLR Provider. 
4) Your bill will be due upon receipt and will be considered delinquent if it is not paid by the 16th day 

after issuance of the bill. 
5) POLR Provider offers deferred and level payment (also known as budget) plans.  Budget plans will be 

reconciled quarterly.  Please contact POLR Provider at the 24-hour customer service number below 
for information about these options.  

 
3. SERVICE CHARGES AND FEES  
  
You will be subject to the following charges and fees in addition to the PRICE FOR BASIC SERVICE in section 
1: 
 

Service Charges and Fees Amount 
Account History charge if you request and are provided a premise usage history for more than the most 
recent 12 months or if a 12-month history is requested more than once within a 12-month period.  If you 
are a low-income customer, the first two premise usage histories provided on your behalf to an agency 
providing bill payment assistance shall not be counted in determining whether you are subject to an 
account history charge.  

$25.00 

Collection Letter charge for processing a registered or certified letter demanding payment of past due 
accounts.  

$15.00 

Disconnection charge for disconnection of service pursuant to TDSP’s tariffs. [Insert pass 
through charge 
from TDSP ] 

Account Reinstatement fee for handling accounts for reconnection after disconnection for non-payment 
(in addition to any applicable disconnect or reconnect charges). 

No charge  

Equipment charge for providing testing, monitoring or other special equipment at the request of the 
customer. 

[Insert pass 
through charge 
from TDSP] 
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Service Charges and Fees Amount 
Reconnection charge for reconnection of service pursuant to TDSP’s tariffs. [Insert pass 

through charge 
from TDSP] 

Unmetered Guardlight/Security lighting charge applies to existing guardlights.  
 

 

[Insert 
applicable 
$/kWh charge 
equivalent to 
125% of former 
applicable PTB] 

Late fees will be assessed on delinquent deferred payment arrangements.  Deferred payment 
arrangements are delinquent if not paid by the date specified by the deferred payment plan.   

5% assessed on 
the late deferred 
payment amount 

Out-of-cycle meter reading charge may be charged if you request an out-of-cycle meter reading:  

                 During regular hours [Insert pass 
through charge 
from TDSP] 

                 Outside regular working hours – Non-holiday [Insert pass 
through charge 
from TDSP] 
 

                 Outside regular working hours – Holidays [Insert pass 
through charge 
from TDSP] 
 

Reread charge will be assessed if requested by the customer. [Insert pass 
through charge 
from TDSP] 

Return check charge for each check returned for insufficient funds. $25.00 

  

Tampering charge for unauthorized reconnection of service, tampering with the electric meter, theft of 
electric service by any person on customer’s premise, or evidence thereof, at customer’s premise.  
Additional charges for repair, replacement, relocation of equipment and estimated amount of electric 
service not recorded may also be billed to you.  

[Insert pass 
through charge 
from TDSP] 

Disconnection Reminder Notification charge for notifying customer that disconnection of service may 
be in progress.  This notification may be made by telephone, electronically or by any means of 
communication appropriate for the customer.   

$5.00 

POLR Provider reserves the right to charge for court costs, legal fees, and other costs associated with collection of delinquent 
amounts. 
POLR Provider reserves the right to charge for services requested by you that are rendered on your behalf after your approval 
of disclosed charges for those services, as well as the right to pass through tariff charges for services rendered by the TDSP.   

 
 
4. DISCONNECTION OF SERVICE 
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Disconnection means a physical interruption of electric service.  Disconnection is subject to the rules of the PUCT. 
a) Your account will be considered delinquent if your monthly bill or pay-in-advance bill is not paid on or 

before the 16th day after issuance of the bill. If your account becomes delinquent, your service may be 
disconnected ten days after notice is issued. 

b) Your service may be disconnected after you are notified of your failure to comply with the terms of this 
Standard Terms of Service Agreement or any payment plan. 

c) Service may not be reconnected by the POLR Provider until all delinquent amounts and charges owed to 
POLR Provider have been paid.  

d) Your service may be disconnected without notice

e) If you choose to cancel service under this Standard Terms of Service Agreement, your service will be 
disconnected unless you have made arrangements with another retail electric provider and a switch of 
provider has been successfully completed by the Registration Agent by the date you choose to cancel 
service.  You will be responsible for any charges pursuant to section 1 PRICE FOR BASIC SERVICE, 
section 2 SECURITY AND BILLING and section 3 SERVICE CHARGES AND FEES of this 
agreement up to the date you choose to cancel service. 

 if a dangerous or hazardous condition exists, if the 
service has been connected without proper authority or for the reasons prescribed in the PUCT substantive 
rules.  Service will not be reconnected until the dangerous or hazardous condition has been corrected. 

f) A disconnection notice may be issued concurrently with the written requests for either the initial or 
additional cash deposit or with a pay-in-advance in lieu of cash deposit billing. 

g) A disconnection notice may be issued concurrently with your bill. 
h) You may be disconnected for failure to pay an initial pay-in-advance bill in lieu of cash deposit or a 

monthly pay-in-advance bill. 
i) POLR Provider cannot disconnect your electric service until you are a customer of the POLR Provider. 

 
5. CUSTOMER INFORMATION  
 
You will be required to provide your social security number, a valid driver’s license number, or other verifiable 
means of personal identification. 
 
You authorize the TDSP, any previous retail electric provider, or the Independent Organization to provide POLR 
Provider information including, but not limited to: previous billings and usage of electricity, meter readings and 
types of service received, credit history, any records of tampering, and other names in which service has been 
provided, social security number, contact telephone number(s), driver’s license, etc. 

 
You authorize POLR Provider to release your customer payment information to credit reporting agencies, 
regulatory agents, agents of POLR Provider, energy assistance agencies, law enforcement agencies or the TDSP. 

 
You authorize POLR Provider to use credit-reporting agencies to evaluate your credit history. 

 
6. LENGTH OF AGREEMENT 
 
NOTICE:  POLR PROVIDER CANNOT REQUIRE THAT YOU SIGN UP FOR A MINIMUM 
CONTRACT TERM AS A CONDITION OF PROVIDING SERVICE. 
No term of service is required under this agreement unless by mutual agreement a term is agreed to in writing 
between you and POLR Provider or unless you enter a level payment plan or deferred payment plan.  If you decide 
to be placed on POLR Provider’s: 
 

a) Level (also known as Budget)  Payment Plan, your term of service shall be six months from the date of the 
first monthly billing subsequent to being placed on the level payment plan. The term shall start on the 
date you enter the Level  Payment Plan; or  



Public Utility Commission of Texas 
Figure: 16 TAC §25.43(f)(1)(A) 
 

  8                         
Version No. __ 

Date  
Residential Service 

Standard Terms of Service Agreement 

b) Deferred Payment Plan, your term of service shall be a minimum of three months or the length agreed to 
for making deferred payments, whichever is longer.  The term shall start on the date you enter the 
Deferred Payment Plan. 

c) You will not be charged a penalty for canceling your service before the end of the term but you will be 
responsible for all outstanding amounts due including Level and Deferred Payment Plan reconciliation 
amounts. 

 
7. END OF POLR TERM 
 
POLR Provider’s standard terms of service and obligations to offer the POLR rate specified under subsection 2, 
PRICE FOR BASIC SERVICE, will expire on [insert last date of POLR term].   At least 60 days before that date, 
POLR Provider will provide you notice of available options for securing electric service after POLR’s existing term 
has expired.  If you obtain electric service from a provider other than POLR Provider, your final bill from POLR 
Provider will be offset against your deposit and any remaining balance will be refunded to you within 20 days from 
the final meter read date.    

  
8. CONTACT INFORMATION 
 
Name of Provider: 24-Hour Customer Service: (toll free)    
Physical Address:  24-Hour Power Outages:   Contact your 

local electricity  delivery company 
 Internet web-site: 
 Fax: (toll free) 

 
You may contact POLR Provider if you have a dispute concerning your bill or your service from POLR Provider. 
You must provide, in writing, within ten business days of the invoice date, your reasons for disputing the invoice.  
You will be obligated to pay the undisputed portion of the bill and the POLR may pursue disconnection of service 
for nonpayment of the undisputed portion after appropriate notice.  In the event that you give timely notice of a 
dispute, you and the POLR Provider shall, for a period of 30 calendar days following POLR Provider’s receipt of 
the notice, pursue diligent, good faith efforts to resolve the dispute.  Following resolution of the dispute, any 
amount found payable by either party shall be paid within ten business days. 

 
Complaints regarding your service may also be directed to the Public Utility Commission of Texas, 1-888-782-
8477 (toll free). 

 
9. LOW INCOME PAYMENT ASSISTANCE INFORMATION 

 
Rate discounts are available for qualified low-income customers. For more information, contact POLR Provider 
Customer Service or either of the following state agencies: 
 

 Texas Department of Housing and Consumer Affairs:  1-512-475-3800 
 Public Utility Commission of Texas:   1-888-782-8477 (toll free) 
 

10. BILL PAYMENT METHODS  
 
You may pay for your electric service by personal or cashier's check, money order, debit or credit card, electronic 
funds transfer, [Insert if offered by POLR Provider (optional):  in cash through an agent authorized by the POLR 
Provider], or automatic draft from your financial institution.  If you choose to make payment via electronic funds 
transfer or automatic draft, you must contact POLR Provider’s Customer Service number to begin those options for 
bill payment at no cost. 
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If you have had two or more personal checks returned for insufficient funds within the last 12 months, POLR 
Provider will require all further payments for electric service to be by cash, cashier's check, money order or 
debit/credit card.  If you pay by debit/credit card and it has been declined two or more times within the last 12 
months, POLR Provider will require all further payments to be by cash, cashier's check or money order. 
 
11. FORCE MAJEURE 
 
POLR Provider shall not be liable in damages for any act or event that is beyond its control including but not 
limited to, an act of God, act of the public enemy, war, insurrection, riot, fire, explosion, labor disturbance or 
strike, terrorism, wildlife, accident, breakdown or accident to machinery or equipment, or a valid curtailment 
order, regulation, or restriction imposed by governmental, military, or lawfully established civilian authorities, 
including any directive of the independent organization, and performance or nonperformance by the TDSP. 
 
12. LIMITATION OF LIABILITY  
 

 

POLR PROVIDER DOES NOT GENERATE YOUR ELECTRICITY, NOR DOES POLR PROVIDER 
TRANSMIT OR DISTRIBUTE ELECTRICITY TO YOU.  POLR PROVIDER WILL NOT BE LIABLE FOR 
FLUCTUATIONS, INTERRUPTIONS OR IRREGULARITIES IN BASIC FIRM SERVICE.  LIABILITIES NOT 
EXCUSED BY REASON OF FORCE MAJEURE OR OTHERWISE SHALL BE LIMITED TO DIRECT, 
ACTUAL DAMAGES.  NEITHER YOU NOR THE POLR PROVIDER SHALL BE LIABLE TO THE OTHER 
FOR CONSEQUENTIAL, INCIDENTAL, PUNITIVE, EXEMPLARY, OR INDIRECT DAMAGES.  THESE 
LIMITATIONS APPLY WITHOUT REGARD TO THE CAUSE OF ANY LIABILITY OR DAMAGE.   

13. REPRESENTATIONS AND WARRANTIES 
 
POLR PROVIDER WARRANTS THAT THE ELECTRICITY SOLD UNDER THIS AGREEMENT WILL BE 
“BASIC FIRM SERVICE” AS THAT TERM IS DEFINED IN PUCT SUBSTANTIVE RULE  25.43(c)(3), TO 
WIT “ELECTRIC SERVICE NOT SUBJECT TO INTERRUPTION FOR ECONOMIC REASONS AND THAT 
DOES NOT INCLUDE VALUE ADDED OPTIONS OFFERED IN THE COMPETITIVE MARKET.  BASIC 
FIRM SERVICE EXCLUDES, AMONG OTHER COMPETITIVELY OFFERED OPTIONS, EMERGENCY OR 
BACK-UP SERVICE, AND STAND-BY SERVICE.”  

 

 

POLR PROVIDER MAKES NO OTHER WARRANTIES WHATSOEVER WITH REGARD TO THE 
PROVISION OF ELECTRIC SERVICE AND DISCLAIMS ANY AND ALL OTHER WARRANTIES, EXPRESS 
OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING BUT NOT LIMITED TO WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY OR FITNESS 
FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE. 

14. DISCRIMINATION 
 
POLR Provider will not refuse to provide electric service or otherwise discriminate in the provision of electric 
service to any customer based on race, creed, color, national origin, ancestry, sex, marital status, lawful source of 
income, disability, familial status, level of income, location of customer in an economically distressed geographic 
area, or qualification for low-income or energy efficiency services. 
 

You have the right to cancel this agreement (Standard Terms of Service Agreement) for electric service 
without penalty or fee of any kind for a period of three federal business days after you have received the 
Standard Terms of Service. You may cancel your service and this agreement by calling the toll free 24-
hour Customer Service number contained in this Standard Terms of Service Agreement or by contacting 
us via fax or e-mail. Cancellation of this agreement will result in disconnection of your service as 
provided in this agreement.  
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[Insert POLR Provider Name] (Certificate No.______) 

Provider of Last Resort (POLR) Small Non-Residential Service (insert:  less than 50 kW or greater than or 

equal to 50 kW) 

 
This Standard Terms of Service (STOS)Agreement (TOSA) applies to small non-residential customers (i.e., one 
megawatt and below) (insert:  less than 50 kW or greater than or equal to 50 kW) receiving Provider of Last Resort 
(POLR) service from POLR Provider under Public Utility Commission of Texas (PUCT) Retail Electric Provider 
(REP) Certificate No. ___.  These standard terms of service are subject to current and future customer protection 
laws or rules as prescribed by local, state or federal authorities and to changes in applicable charges or 
transmission and distribution service provider (TDSP) rates.  Customers will be notified of material changes in 
these Standard Terms of Service resulting from changes in local, state, or federal legislation or rules, applicable 
charges, or TDSP rates, [insert if option A below applies: except for changes in the energy-charge component of 
the price for basic firm service as described below, at least 45 days before such changes take effect, unless 
otherwise directed by law.  Each TOSA will be given a unique version number for quick reference. 
 
SPANISH LANGUAGE (IDIOMA ESPANOL) Si usted  quiere obtener el mismo documento impreso 
detallando los Términos de Servicio en español comunicandose con nosotros al [insert toll-free number]. 

 
1. PRICE FOR BASIC FIRM SERVICE. 
 
POLR Provider will provide basic firm service, defined as electric service not subject to interruption for economic 
reasons and that does not include value-added options offered in the competitive market. The rate for your electric 
service from POLR Provider will be based on the formula detailed below.  following [INSERT IF OPTION A 
APPLIES TO POLR PROVIDER: plus any applicable recurring monthly charges.] [PAY-IN-ADVANCE 
LANGUAGE TO BE INCLUDED IN TERMS OF SERVICE AT THE OPTION OF POLR PROVIDER: These 
charges may be applied in a pay-in-advance manner as described in section 2 SECURITY AND BILLING.] Non-
recurring charges will be billed as they are incurred and are set out in section 3 SERVICE CHARGES AND 
FEES below. 
 

A. Your rate for POLR service will be derived from the following formula:  
 

POLR rate (in cents/kWh) = (X% * Zonal 30-Day Average MCPE Shaped by ERCOT Load Profile * 
Customer’s Metered Usage) + (Monthly Customer Charge or Demand Charge) + (TDSP Charges) 

 
Where the “Zonal 30-Day Average MCPE Shaped by ERCOT Load Profile” is a weighted average defined 

per Weather Zone and Congestion Zone, and is reported on the ERCOT website, as: 
 

 
consist of an energy charge, [INSERT IF APPLICABLE: demand charge], [INSERT IF APPLICABLE: 

monthly customer charge], and non-bypassable charges as described below.  
 

All Intervals

15 Minute Interval Load Based on Appropriate Customer Class Profile *Corresponding 15 Minute Zonal MCPE
Sum of 30 days of Interval Load

10

 
 
 

∑



Public Utility Commission of Texas 
Figure: 16 TAC §25.43(f)(1)(B) 
 

  2                         
Version No. __ 

Date  
Small-Non-Residential Service 

Standard Terms of Service Agreement 

Energy charge: The energy charge shall be recalculated at the beginning of each month in 
accordance with the formula provided below.  If the recalculated energy charge varies by more 
than 5% from the existing energy charge, then the energy charge component of your rate for that 
billing month shall be the recalculated charge (see note below).*  If the recalculated energy 
charge does not vary by more than 5% from the existing energy charge, then the energy charge 
component of your rate shall remain unchanged.  The applicable energy charge will be stated on 
your monthly bill from POLR Provider.  For additional information on the current energy charge, 
refer to [INSERT POLR PROVIDER WEBSITE ADDRESS] or contact POLR Provider at 
[INSERT PHONE NUMBER].  

 
Energy Charge N=Energy Charge E  * Gas Price N / Gas Price E 

Where: 
 Energy Charge N= recalculated energy charge 
 

  Energy Charge E = existing energy charge 
 

Gas Price N = the average of the closing one-month forward New York Mercantile Exchange 
(NYMEX) Henry Hub natural gas prices as reported in the Wall Street Journal for the last five 
trading days of the month ended 30 days prior to the effective date of the recalculated energy 
charge. 
 
Gas Price E = the average of the closing one-month forward NYMEX Henry Hub natural gas 
prices as reported in the Wall Street Journal for the last five business days preceding the bid due 
date for the first gas price adjustment of the POLR term.  For subsequent calculations, Gas Price 
E = the average of the closing one-month forward NYMEX Henry Hub natural gas prices as 
reported in the Wall Street Journal, at the time the existing energy charge was last adjusted. 
 
[IF APPLICABLE] Demand charge:    [Insert $/kW amount] 
The demand charge is calculated based on the customer’s highest billing demand in any interval 
within the current billing period.  Non-demand metered customers will be billed based on ten 
kilowatts (kW) monthly.  
 
[IF APPLICABLE] Monthly customer charge:    [Insert $ amount] 
 
Nonbypassable charges:  These charges are billed to POLR Provider and include, but are not 
limited to: Transmission and Distribution Service Provider’s (TDSP) wires usage and 
miscellaneous discretionary charges, transition to competition (CTC) charges, system benefit 
fund (SBF) payments, taxes or charges from various taxing or regulatory authorities, including 
POLR Provider’s Gross Receipts tax, and other non-bypassable charges. 
 
*NOTE: If the recalculated energy charge results in the overall POLR price being lower than the 
price-to-beat rate charged by [specify affiliated REP] under [specify applicable tariff], the POLR 
price will be set at the price-to-beat rate for the applicable billing month. 

 
OR [INSERT IF APPLICABLE] 

 
B. [Rate = 125% of the applicable PTB]  This rate is 125% of the price to beat rate charged by 

[SPECIFY AFFILIATED REP] under [SPECIFY APPLICABLE TARIFF].  You will be 
notified of any change in the rate that may result from changes in the price to beat rate.  
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2. SECURITY AND BILLING  
  
[PAY-IN-ADVANCE LANGUAGE TO BE INCLUDED IN STANDARD TERMS OF SERVICE AT THE OPTION 
OF POLR PROVIDER  POLR Provider will offer the option to either pay a cash deposit to prevent disconnection 
after POLR provider has begun providing your electric service, secure your service pursuant to subsection (a) 
CASH DEPOSIT or to choose PAY-IN-ADVANCE BILLING OPTION IN LIEU OF CASH DEPOSIT 
pursuant to subsection (b).] 
 
POLR Provider has no obligation to continue to serve you if you fail to pay the required cash deposit within the 
appropriate time frame [or to accept pay-in-advance billing.] 
 

a) CASH DEPOSIT  

If service is initiated under option (a) CASH DEPOSIT you will be billed monthly for your electric service 
after the scheduled monthly meter read date.  The monthly billing period will be approximately 30 days.  Your 
bill will be due upon receipt and will be considered delinquent if it is not paid by the sixteenth (16th) day after 
issuance of the bill.  Disconnection of service may result upon non-payment of a bill pursuant to section 4 
DISCONNECTION OF SERVICE. 

1)  If your service is initiated with POLR Provider by paying a cash deposit, you will be required to pay 
the initial cash deposit after POLR Provider receives confirmation from the Registration Agent of the 
effective date you are to become a customer of POLR Provider.  Cash deposits required for POLR 
service shall be equivalent to the estimated billing for a two-month period, including, where 
applicable, customer and non-bypassable charges, and energy and demand charges determined based 
on your two highest months of usage and demand in the most recent 12-month period.  If 12 months 
of data are not available, the required two months cash deposit shall be determined by the longest 
available period less than 12 months.  

2) If historical usage is not available, POLR Provider in its sole judgment may develop reasonable good 
faith estimates to determine your cash deposit amount.  Estimates will be based on key energy 
determinants and electric equipment, including, but not limited to: square footage, HVAC size and 
type, type of business, hours of operation, standard industry load factor assumptions, etc.  Other non-
discriminatory methods of determining creditworthiness may be used. 

3) You may be required, in the future, to pay an initial or additional cash deposit or [to pay-in-advance 
pursuant to subsection (b)] if you have been issued a disconnection notice within the last 12 months or 
if you have been a customer for 12 months and you have used more than twice the amount estimated 
to determine your initial cash deposit. 

4) You will accrue interest on your cash deposit with POLR Provider. Each year in December, the PUCT 
establishes the interest rate POLR Provider will apply to your cash deposit for the next calendar year.   

5) You may satisfy security requirements by providing POLR Provider with an irrevocable letter of 
credit in the amount of the required cash deposit.  The required security must be provided within ten 
days after a notice is issued to you requesting a cash deposit. 

6) If not previously returned to you, your cash deposit and accrued interest, less any outstanding balance 
owed for electric service, will be refunded to you upon closing of your account with POLR Provider.   

7) If your service is terminated prior to the regularly scheduled meter read date, the final bill for service 
may be calculated using the out of cycle meter readings.  Final bills will not be prorated. 

8) POLR Provider will require payment of the initial cash deposit within ten days of receiving 
confirmation from the Registration Agent of the effective date you become a customer of the POLR.   

9) Your service may be disconnected if you fail to pay the required cash deposit (initial or additional) 
within ten days of issuance  of a notice of disconnection of service.   
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b) [PAY-IN-ADVANCE LANGUAGE TO BE INCLUDED IN STANDARD TERMS OF SERVICE AT 
THE OPTION OF POLR PROVIDER] PAY-IN-ADVANCE BILLING OPTION IN LIEU OF CASH 
DEPOSIT 
11) If your POLR electric service is initiated by pay–in-advance, you will be billed in advance for your 

electric service after POLR Provider receives confirmation from the Registration Agent of the 
effective date you are to become a POLR customer of POLR Provider. All bills including the initial 
one requesting your payment in advance, will include the monthly customer charge, demand charge, 
energy charge, and an estimate of two months’ non-bypassable charges, applicable taxes, service 
charges and other costs as permitted by governmental or regulatory authorities. 

12) Your initial pay-in-advance billing will include charges for two months, based on historical demand 
(the highest demand recorded for your service in the prior 12 months) plus an energy charge (based 
on your kWh consumption for the highest two months during the prior 12 months) and will be due 
within ten days of issuance of the notice requiring a pay-in-advance billing. 

13) Pay-in-advance billing requires that you maintain a balance of the two-months initial total estimated 
charges for the time that you are a POLR customer and will be billed monthly on approximately 30-
day periods. 

14) Your bill will be due upon receipt and will be considered delinquent if it is not paid by the 16th 
calendar day after issuance of the bill. 

15) If your pay-in-advance billing exceeds the initial pay-in-advance amount then the pay-in-advance 
billing amount will be reset to that amount for the next billing cycle. 

16) There is no interest accrued on pay-in-advance billing. 
17) If historical usage is not available, POLR Provider in its sole judgment may develop reasonable good 

faith estimates to determine your billing and establish a pay-in-advance billing amount accordingly.  
Estimates will be based on key energy determinants and electric equipment including, but not limited 
to: square footage, HVAC type and size, type of business, hours of operation, standard industry load 
factor assumptions, etc.  Once there is an established history of six months usage, POLR Provider will 
review the pay-in-advance amount and adjust it if necessary. If your monthly bill exceeds the pay-in-
advance amount, the pay-in-advance amount will be adjusted accordingly. 

18) Billing statements will reflect the total charges for POLR services provided by POLR Provider. 
19) Your service may be disconnected if you fail to pay the required pay-in-advance bill within ten days of 

issuance  of a notice of disconnection of service. 
 
3. SERVICE CHARGES AND FEES  
 
You will be subject to the following charges and fees in addition to the PRICE FOR BASIC FIRM SERVICE in 
section 1. These fees will be billed for each premise. “Premise” herein shall mean the designated property or 
facilities and associated metered account identified by an Electric Service Identifier Number (ESI ID), which is a 
unique and permanent identifier assigned to each Premise. 
    

Service Charges and Fees Amount 
 

Account Reinstatement fee for handling accounts for reconnection after disconnection for non-
payment.  This is in addition to any applicable disconnect or reconnect charges.  

$10.00 

Account History charge if you request and are provided a premise usage history for more than the 
most recent 12 months or if a 12 month history is requested for more than once within a 12 month 
period.  

$25.00 

Collection Letter charge for processing a registered or certified letter demanding payment of past 
due accounts.  

$15.00 

Drawing on an irrevocable letter of credit.  Includes all of the activities required to present a 
drawing letter to customer’s bank. 

$50.00 plus any 
fees imposed by 
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Service Charges and Fees Amount 
 
financial 
institution 

Disconnection charge for disconnection of service pursuant to TDSP’s tariffs. [Insert pass 
through charge 
from TDSP] 

  
Equipment charge for providing testing, monitoring or other special equipment at the request of 
the customer. 

[Insert pass 
through charge 
from TDSP] 

Field Collection charge for each trip to customer’s premise to collect an amount that is past due 
when the customer requests the trip.  

$10.00/ESI ID 

Field Service Calls for each trip to the customer’s premise to provide non-competitive services 
such as billing and outage-related inquiries, as requested and approved by the customer after trip 
charges are disclosed.  A two hour minimum will be billed for each customer requested Field 
Service Call and includes travel and incidental expenses with the Field Service Call as well as any 
TDSP discretionary charges.   

$100.00/hour 

Reconnection charge for reconnection of service pursuant to TDSP’s tariffs. [Insert pass 
through charge 
from TDSP] 

Guardlight/Security lighting charge applies to existing guardlights or security lighting.  
 
 
 

[Insert applicable 
$/kWh charge 
equivalent to 125% 
of former 
applicable PTB] 

Master Contracts  
• Set-up fee per new or transferred contract 
• Additional fee per each unit placed on a master contract, added to an existing contract or 
transferred 

 
$25.00 
$ 5.00 

Master Metered Facilities: 
Master Metered Tenant charge for small non-residential 50 kW and below facilities may be 
assessed to recover costs associated with installing, maintaining, testing, reading or other 
costs incurred by POLR Provider for rendering electric service to tenants of master metered 
facilities. 
 
Tenant Notification charge for each apartment unit to recover expenses incurred each time a 
tenant in a master metered facility is notified of either impending disconnection for 
nonpayment of the electric service or of actual disconnection. 

 
[Insert pass 
through charge 
from TDSP] 
 
 
 
$25.00 to meet 
Subst. R. 25.483 
minimum.  $10.00 
per addn’l  5 
notices per 50 units 
over 100 units 

Late fees will be assessed on the seventeenth (17th) day after the bill issuance for all unpaid 
balances, including pay-in-advance billing.   Payment arrangements are delinquent and will be 
assessed late fees if not paid by the date pursuant to a negotiated payment plan.  Late fees may not 
be assessed against a customer with a peak demand of less than 50 kW. 

5% assessed on the 
late payment 
amount 

Out-of-cycle meter reading charge may be charged if you request an out-of-cycle meter reading:  
                 During regular hours [Insert pass 

through charge 
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Service Charges and Fees Amount 
 
from TDSP] 

                 Outside regular working hours – Non-holiday [Insert pass 
through charge 
from TDSP] 

                 Outside regular working hours – Holidays [Insert pass 
through charge 
from TDSP] 

Reread request charge for each request by a customer to obtain meter readings in addition to the 
normal cycle readings. 

[Insert pass 
through charge 
from TDSP] 

Processing fee for renegotiation of a payment plan.  This fee applies if you request renegotiations 
more than once in any 30-day period. In addition, you may be required to pay the appropriate 
amount to the Company to reconcile your account balance.  

$10.00 

Return check charge for each check returned for insufficient funds. This charge will be imposed 
for each returned check (or for any bill payment method that results in a notice of insufficient 
funds from the customer’s financial institution.) 

$25.00 

  
Tampering charge for unauthorized reconnection of service, tampering with the electric meter, 
theft of electric service by any person on customer’s premise, or evidence thereof, at Customer’s 
premise.  Additional charges for repair, replacement, relocation of equipment and estimated 
amount of electric service not recorded may also be billed to you.  

[Insert pass 
through charge 
from TDSP] 

Disconnection Reminder Notification charge for notifying customers that disconnection of 
service may be in progress.  This notification may be made by telephone, electronically or by any 
means of communication appropriate for the customer.   

$5.00 

POLR Provider reserves the right to charge for incurred court costs, legal fees and miscellaneous costs associated with 
legal action as a result of maintaining customer accounts. 
POLR Provider reserves the right to charge for services, requested by you, that are rendered on your behalf after your 
approval of disclosed charges for those services, as well as the right to pass through tariff charges for services rendered 
by the TDSP and billed to POLR Provider.   

 
4. DISCONNECTION OF SERVICE 
 
Disconnection means a physical interruption of electric service.  Disconnection is subject to the rules of the PUCT. 

a) Your account will be considered delinquent if your monthly bill or pay-in-advance bill is not paid on or 
before the 16th day after issuance of the bill. If your account becomes delinquent, your service may be 
disconnected 10 days after notice is issued. 

b) Your service may be disconnected after you are notified of your failure to comply with the terms of this 
TOSA or any payment plan. 

c) Service may not be reconnected until all delinquent amounts and charges owned to POLR Provider have 
been paid. 

d) Your service may be disconnected without notice

e) If you choose to cancel service under this TOSA, your service will be disconnected unless you have made 
arrangements with another retail electric provider and a switch of provider has been successfully 
completed by the Registration Agent by the date you choose to cancel service.  You will be responsible for 
any charges pursuant to section 1 PRICE FOR BASIC FIRM SERVICE, section 2 SECURITY AND 

 if a dangerous or hazardous condition exists, if the 
service has been connected without proper authority or for the reasons prescribed in the PUCT Substantive 
Rules.  Service will not be reconnected until the dangerous or hazardous condition has been corrected. 
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BILLING and section 3 SERVICE CHARGES AND FEES of this agreement up to the date you choose 
to cancel service or the date you switch electric service to another REP, whichever is later. 

f) A disconnection notice may be issued concurrently with the written requests for either the initial or 
additional cash deposit or with a pay-in-advance in lieu of cash deposit billing. 

g) A disconnection notice may be issued concurrently with your pay-in-advance billing or cash deposit 
billing. 

h) Your service may be disconnected for failure to pay an initial pay-in-advance bill, or monthly pay-in-
advance bill, or cash deposit bill.. 

i) POLR Provider cannot disconnect your electric service until you are a customer of the POLR Provider. 
 

5. CUSTOMER INFORMATION  
 
You will be required to provide a Federal tax identification (I.D) number, a social security number, a valid driver’s 
license number or other verifiable means of personal identification in order to allow verification of changes you 
request in services from POLR Provider.   
 
You authorize the TDSP, any previous retail electric provider, or the Independent Organization to provide 
information to POLR Provider including, but not limited to: previous billings and usage of electricity, meter 
readings and types of service received, credit history, any records of tampering, and other names in which service 
has been provided, social security number, contact telephone number(s), tax ID or driver’s license number, etc. 

 
You authorize POLR Provider to release your customer payment information to credit reporting agencies, 
regulatory agents, agents of POLR Provider, energy assistance agencies, law enforcement agencies or the TDSP. 

 
You authorize POLR Provider to use credit-reporting agencies to evaluate your credit history. 
 
6. LENGTH OF AGREEMENT 

 
NOTICE: POLR PROVIDER CANNOT REQUIRE THAT YOU SIGN UP FOR A MINIMUM CONTRACT 
TERM AS A CONDITION OF PROVIDING SERVICE.   

 
No term of service is required under this agreement unless by mutual agreement a term is agreed to in writing 
between you and POLR Provider or unless you enter an agreed payment plan requiring a minimum term.   
 
7. (insert and renumber if greater than or equal to 50 kW customer class:  WAIVER OF CERTAIN 
CUSTOMER PROTECTION RULES) 
For the small non-residential greater than or equal to 50 kW customer class, the following Customer Protection 
Rule provisions contained within Subchapter R of this chapter shall be deemed waived by the execution of this 
Standard Terms of Service: 

(insert list of potentially waived customer protection rules).  
 
8.7. END OF POLR TERM 
 
POLR Provider’s standard terms of service and obligations to offer the POLR rate specified under subsection 2, 
PRICE FOR BASIC FIRM SERVICE, will expire on [insert last date of POLR term].   At least 60 days before that 
date, POLR Provider will provide you notice of available options for securing electric service after POLR’s existing 
term has expired.  If you obtain electric service from a provider other than POLR Provider, your final bill from 
POLR Provider will be offset against your deposit and any remaining balance will be refunded to you within 20 
days from the final meter read date.    
 

 



Public Utility Commission of Texas 
Figure: 16 TAC §25.43(f)(1)(B) 
 

  8                         
Version No. __ 

Date  
Small-Non-Residential Service 

Standard Terms of Service Agreement 

98. CONTACT INFORMATION 
 
Name of Provider:       Certificate Number:   
Physical Address:       Customer Assistance:  

Contact hours  
24-Hour Power Outage:  
Fax:   
Internet web-site:  

 
You may contact POLR Provider if you have a dispute concerning your bill or your service from POLR Provider. 
You must provide, in writing, within ten business days of the invoice date your reasons for disputing the invoice.  
You will be obligated to pay the undisputed portion of the bill and the POLR may pursue disconnection of service 
for nonpayment of the undisputed portion after appropriate notice.  In the event that you give timely notice of a 
dispute, you and the POLR Provider shall, for a period of 30 calendar days following the POLR Provider’s receipt 
of the notice, pursue diligent, good faith efforts to resolve the dispute.  Following resolution of the dispute, any 
amount found payable by either party shall be paid within ten business days. Complaints regarding your service 
may also be directed to the Public Utility Commission, 1-888-782-8477 (toll free). 

 
109. BILL PAYMENT METHODS  
 
You may pay for your electric service by personal or cashier's check, money order, electronic funds transfer, [Insert 
if offered by POLR Provider (optional):  in cash through an agent authorized by the POLR Provider], or automatic 
draft from your financial institution.  If you choose to make payment via electronic funds transfer or automatic 
draft, you must contact POLR Provider’s Customer Service number to begin those options for bill payment at no 
cost.  Regardless of the payment method you select, all payments must be made within (16 calendar days of bill 
issuance.  If payments are not received by POLR Provider by the end of the day on the due date, the bill will be 
considered delinquent and a late fee of 5% will be applied to all unpaid balances including pay-in-advance.  Late 
fees may not be assessed against a customer with a peak demand of less than 50 kW. 
 
If you have had two or more personal checks returned for insufficient funds within the last 12 months, POLR 
Provider will require all further payments for electric service to be by cash, cashier's check, or money order.  

 
11.10. FORCE MAJEURE 
 
POLR Provider shall not be liable in damages for any act or event that is beyond its control including but not 
limited to, an act of God, act of the public enemy, war, insurrection, riot, fire, explosion, labor disturbance or 
strike, terrorism, wildlife, accident, breakdown or accident to machinery or equipment, or a valid curtailment 
order, regulation, or restriction imposed by governmental, military, or lawfully established civilian authorities, 
including any directive of the independent organization, and performance or nonperformance by the TDSP. 

 
12.11. LIMITATION OF LIABILITY AND INDEMNITY 
 

 

POLR PROVIDER DOES NOT GENERATE YOUR ELECTRICITY, NOR DOES POLR PROVIDER 
TRANSMIT OR DISTRIBUTE ELECTRICITY TO YOU.  POLR PROVIDER WILL NOT BE LIABLE FOR 
FLUCTUATIONS, INTERRUPTIONS OR IRREGULARITIES IN BASIC FIRM SERVICE.  LIABILITIES NOT 
EXCUSED BY REASON OF FORCE MAJEURE OR OTHERWISE SHALL BE LIMITED TO DIRECT, 
ACTUAL DAMAGES.  NEITHER YOU NOR THE POLR PROVIDER SHALL BE LIABLE TO THE OTHER 
FOR CONSEQUENTIAL, INCIDENTAL, PUNITIVE, EXEMPLARY, OR INDIRECT DAMAGES.  THESE 
LIMITATIONS APPLY WITHOUT REGARD TO THE CAUSE OF ANY LIABILITY OR DAMAGE.   

13.12. REPRESENTATIONS AND WARRANTIES 
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POLR PROVIDER WARRANTS THAT THE ELECTRICITY SOLD UNDER THIS AGREEMENT WILL BE 
“BASIC FIRM SERVICE” AS THAT TERM IS DEFINED IN PUCT SUBSTANTIVE RULE 25.43(c)(3), TO 
WIT “ELECTRIC SERVICE NOT SUBJECT TO INTERRUPTION FOR ECONOMIC REASONS AND THAT 
DOES NOT INCLUDE VALUE ADDED OPTIONS OFFERED IN THE COMPETITIVE MARKET.  BASIC 
FIRM SERVICE EXCLUDES, AMONG OTHER COMPETITIVELY OFFERED OPTIONS, EMERGENCY OR 
BACK-UP SERVICE, AND STAND-BY SERVICE.” 

 

 

POLR PROVIDER MAKES NO OTHER WARRANTIES WHATSOEVER WITH REGARD TO THE 
PROVISION OF ELECTRIC SERVICE AND DISCLAIMS ANY AND ALL OTHER WARRANTIES, EXPRESS 
OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING BUT NOT LIMITED TO WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY OR FITNESS 
FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE. 

 
14.13. DISCRIMINATION  
 
POLR Provider will not refuse to provide electric service or otherwise discriminate in the provision of electric 
service to any customer based on race, creed, color, national origin, ancestry, sex, marital status, lawful source of 
income, disability, familial status, level of income, location of customer in an economically distressed geographic 
area, or qualification for low-income or energy efficiency services. 
 
 

You have the right to cancel this agreement (Standard Terms of Service Agreement) for electric service 
without penalty or fee of any kind for a period of three federal business days after you have received the 
Standard Terms of Service. You may cancel your service and this agreement by calling the toll free 
Customer Service number during the hours stated in this Standard Terms of Service Agreement.   Service 
may also be cancelled by toll-free fax or e-mail.  Canceling this service agreement will result in 
disconnection of  service if you have not made arrangements for alternative supply  
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Standard Terms of Service Agreement  

 
[Insert POLR Provider Name] (Certificate No.____) 
Provider of Last Resort (POLR) Large Non-Residential Service (> one megawatt) 

 
This Standard Terms of Service (STOS)Agreement (TOSA) applies to Large Non-Residential customers receiving 
Provider of Last Resort (POLR) service from pursuant to Public Utility Commission of Texas (PUCT) Retail 
Electric Provider (REP) Certificate No. ___.  These standard terms of service are subject to certain current and 
future customer protection laws or rules as prescribed by local, state or federal authorities and to changes in 
applicable charges or transmission and distribution service provider (TDSP) rates.  Customers will be notified of 
changes in applicable charges or TDSP rates, except for changes in the price for basic firm service as described 
below, at least 4530 days before such changes take effect, unless otherwise directed by law.  Each TOSA will be 
given a unique version number for quick reference. 

 
1. PRICE FOR BASIC FIRM SERVICE.   
  
POLR Provider will provide basic firm service, defined as electric service not subject to interruption for economic 
reasons and that does not include value-added options offered in the competitive market.  [INSERT EITHER 
OPTION A OR OPTION B BELOW] 
 

OPTION A. The price for your electric service from POLR Provider will be derived from the 
following formula: 

 
POLR rate (in cents/kWh) = (X% * MCPE Shaped by ERCOT Load Profile for Time Customer was 

Served Shaped by ERCOT Load Profile * Customer’s Metered Usage) + (Monthly Customer 
Charge or Demand Charge) + (TDSP Charges) 

 
Where the “MCPE Shaped by ERCOT Load Profile for Time Customer was Served Shaped by ERCOT 

Load Profile” is a weighted average defined per Weather Zone and Congestion Zone, and is 
reported on the ERCOT website, as: 

 

 
consist of an energy charge, [INSERT IF APPLICABLE: demand charge], [INSERT IF APPLICABLE:  

monthly customer charge], and non-bypassable charges as described below.  [PAY-IN-
ADVANCE LANGUAGE TO BE INCLUDED IN TERMS OF SERVICE AT THE 
OPTION OF POLR PROVIDER: These charges may be applied in a pay-in-advance 
manner as described in section 2 SECURITY AND BILLING.]  

 
Energy charge = [INSERT EITHER:  “[INSERT APPLICABLE FIGURE] % of market 
clearing price of energy (MCPE) for each 15-minute settlement interval for customers in 
ERCOT” OR “[INSERT APPLICABLE FIGURE] % of market-based reference price as 
specified by the PUCT.”] 
 
[INSERT IF APPLICABLE:  Demand charge =___________________________] 

All Intervals

15 Minute Interval Load Based on Appropriate Customer Class Profile *Corresponding 15 Minute Zonal MCPE
Sum of Interval Load for Time Customer is on POLR

10

 
 
 

∑
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The demand charge is calculated based on the customer’s highest billing demand in any 
interval within the current billing period.   
 
[INSERT IF APPLICABLE:  Monthly customer charge = ____________________] 

 
 

 
OPTION B.  Rate = 150% of the greater of $7.25 per megawatt-hour or the MCPE or the market-

based price as specified by the PUCT and a monthly customer charge of $2897.00. 
 
 

Non-bypassable charges billed to POLR Provider that will be added to the prices above include: Transmission and 
Distribution Service Provider’s (TDSP) wires usage and miscellaneous discretionary charges, transition to 
competition charges (CTC), system benefit fund (SBF) payments, taxes or charges from various taxing or 
regulatory authorities including POLR Provider’s Gross Receipts tax, and other non by-passable charges. 
 
Non-recurring charges will be billed as they are incurred and are set out in section 3 SERVICE CHARGES AND 
FEES below.  
 
 
2. SECURITY AND BILLING  
  
[PAY-IN-ADVANCE LANGUAGE TO BE INCLUDED IN STANDARD TERMS OF SERVICE AT THE OPTION 
OF POLR PROVIDER]  POLR Provider will offer the option to either pay a cash deposit to prevent disconnection 
after POLR provider has begun providing your electric service, secure your service pursuant to subsection (a) 
CASH DEPOSIT or to choose PAY-IN-ADVANCE BILLING OPTION IN LIEU OF CASH DEPOSIT 
pursuant to subsection (b).  You will either be required to pay a cash deposit or be subject to pay-in-advance 
billing.]   
 
POLR Provider has no obligation to continue to serve you if you fail to pay the required cash deposit within the 
appropriate time frame [or to accept pay-in-advance billing.] 
 

a) CASH DEPOSIT   
 

If service is initiated under option (a) CASH DEPOSIT you will be billed monthly for your electric 
service after the scheduled monthly meter read date.  The monthly billing period will be 
approximately 30 days.  Your bill will be due upon receipt and will be considered delinquent if it is 
not paid by the sixteenth (16th) day after issuance of the bill.  The late payment fee (5%) will be 
assessed on the seventeenth (17th) day after the bill issuance for all unpaid balances.  
Disconnection of service may result upon non-payment of a bill pursuant to section 4 
DISCONNECTION OF SERVICE. 
1) If your service is initiated with POLR Provider by paying a cash deposit, you will be required to 

pay the initial cash deposit or letter of credit after POLR Provider receives confirmation from the 
Registration Agent of the effective date you are to become a customer of POLR Provider.  Cash 
deposits required for POLR service shall be equivalent to the estimated billing for a three-month 
period, including, where applicable, customer and non-bypassable charges, and energy and 
demand charges determined based on your three highest months of usage and demand during the 
most recent 12-month period.   

2) If historical usage is not available, POLR Provider in its sole judgment may develop reasonable 
good faith estimates to determine your cash deposit amount.  Estimates will be based on key 
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energy determinants and electric equipment, including, but not limited to: square footage, HVAC 
type and size, type of business, hours of operation, standard industry load factor assumptions, etc.  
Other non-discriminatory methods of determining creditworthiness may be used.  

3) You may also be required, in the future, to pay an additional cash deposit if you have been issued 
a disconnection notice or if you have been a customer for three months and you have used more 
than the amount estimated to determine your initial cash deposit. 

4) You will accrue interest on your deposit with POLR Provider. Each year in December, the PUCT 
establishes the interest rate the POLR Provider will apply to your cash deposit for the next 
calendar year.   

5) You may satisfy security requirements by providing POLR Provider with a surety bond or an 
irrevocable letter of credit in the amount of the required cash deposit.  The surety bond must be 
approved by the POLR provider. The required security must be provided within ten days after a 
notice is issued to you requesting a cash deposit.   

6) If not previously returned to you, your cash deposit and accrued interest, less any outstanding 
balance owed for electric service, will be refunded to you upon closing of your account with 
POLR Provider.   

7) If your service is terminated prior to the regularly scheduled meter read date, the energy usage for 
the final bills  may  be calculated using the out of cycle meter readings and will include all 
charges defined in section 1. Price for Basic Firm Service. 

8) POLR Provider will require payment of the initial cash deposit within ten days of receiving 
confirmation from the Registration Agent of the effective date you become a customer of the 
POLR. 

9) Your service may be disconnected if you fail to pay the required cash deposit (initial or 
additional) within ten days of issuance of a notice of disconnection of service.   

 

b)  [PAY-IN-ADVANCE LANGUAGE TO BE INCLUDED IN STANDARD TERMS OF SERVICE AT 
THE OPTION OF POLR PROVIDER] PAY-IN-ADVANCE BILLING OPTION IN LIEU OF CASH 
DEPOSIT 
1) If your POLR electric service is initiated by pay-in-advance, you will be billed in advance for your 

electric service after POLR Provider receives confirmation from the Registration Agent of the 
effective date you are to become a POLR customer of POLR Provider. All bills will include the 
monthly customer charge, demand charge, energy charge, and an estimate of two months’ non-
bypassable charges, applicable fees, taxes, service charges and other costs as permitted by 
governmental or regulatory authorities. 

2) Your initial pay-in-advance billing will include, where applicable, charges for two months, based on 
historical demand (the highest demand recorded for your service in the prior 12 months) plus an 
energy charge (based on your kWh consumption for the highest two months during the prior year) 
and will be due within ten days of issuance of the notice requiring a pay-in-advance billing 

3) Pay-in-advance billing requires that you maintain a balance of the two-month initial total estimated 
charges for the time that you are a POLR customer and will be billed monthly on approximately 30-
day periods. 

4) Your bill will be due upon receipt and will be considered delinquent if it is not paid by the 16th 
calendar day after issuance of the bill. 

5) If your pay-in-advance billing exceeds the initial pay-in-advance amount, then the pay-in-advance 
billing amount will be reset to that amount for the next billing cycle.  

6) There is no interest accrued on pay-in-advance billing. 
7) If historical usage is not available, POLR Provider in its sole judgment may develop reasonable good 

faith estimates to determine your billing and establish a pay-in-advance billing amount accordingly.  
Estimates will be based on key energy determinants and electric equipment including, but not limited 
to: square footage, HVAC type and size, type of business, hours of operation, standard industry load 
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factor assumptions, etc.  Once there is an established history of three months usage, POLR Provider 
will review the pay-in-advance amount and adjust it if necessary.  If at any time the sum of your two 
highest monthly bills exceeds the pay-in-advance amount, the pay-in-advance amount may be 
adjusted accordingly.  

8) Billing statements will reflect the total charges for POLR services provided by POLR Provider. 
9) Your service may be disconnected if you fail to pay the required pay-in-advance bill within ten days of 

issuance of a notice of disconnection of service. 
 
3. SERVICE CHARGES AND FEES  
 
You will be subject to the following charges and fees in addition to the rates for service prescribed in section 1 
PRICE FOR BASIC FIRM SERVICE.  These fees will be billed for each premise. “Premise” herein shall mean 
the designated property or facilities and associated metered account identified by an Electric Service Identifier 
Number (ESI ID), which is a unique and permanent identifier assigned to each  service point. 
 
 

Service Charges and Fees 
 
Charge or 

Fee 
Account Reinstatement fee for handling accounts for reconnection after disconnection for non-
payment.  This is in addition to any applicable disconnect or reconnect charges.  

$ 50.00 

Account History charge if you request and are provided a service point usage history for more than the 
most recent 12 months or if a 12-month history is requested more than once within a 12-month period.  

 
$ 25.00 

Collection Letter charge for processing a registered or certified letter demanding payment of past due 
accounts or drawing on your letter of credit.  

 
$15.00 

Drawing on irrevocable letter of credit includes all of the activities required to present a drawing letter 
to your bank. 

$150.00 plus any 
fees imposed by 

financial 
institution 

Disconnection charge for disconnection of service pursuant to Transmission and Distribution Service 
Provider’s (TDSP) tariffs, including charges that may be assessed by the TDSP for scheduling a 
disconnection that is canceled. 

[Insert pass 
through charge 

from TDSP] 
Equipment charge for providing testing, monitoring or other special equipment at the request of the 
customer. 

[Insert pass 
through charge 

from TDSP] 
Field Collection charge for each trip to a customer’s premise to collect an amount that is past due when 
the customer requests the trip.  

$10.00 / 
ESI ID 

Field Service Calls for each trip to the customer’s premise to provide non-competitive services such as 
billing and outage-related inquiries, as requested and approved by the customer after trip charges are 
disclosed.  A four hour minimum will be billed for each customer requested Field Service Call and 
includes travel and incidental expenses with the field service call. 

 
 

 
$200.00/hour 

Late fees will be assessed on the seventeenth (17th) day after the bill issuance for all unpaid balances, 
including pay-in-advance billing.  Payment arrangements are delinquent and will be assessed a late fee if 
not paid by the date pursuant to a negotiated payment plan. 
 

5% assessed on 
the late payment 

amounts 

 
Master Contracts  

 Set-up fee per new or transferred contract 
 Additional fee per each unit placed on a master contract, added to an existing contract or 

transferred 

 
$25.00 
$ 5.00 

Master Metered Facilities:  
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Service Charges and Fees 

 
Charge or 

Fee 
Master Metered Tenant charge for facilities may be assessed to recover costs associated with 
installing, maintaining, testing, reading or other costs incurred by POLR Provider for 
rendering electric service to tenants of master metered facilities. 

 
Tenant Notification charge for each apartment unit to recover expenses incurred each time a 
tenant in a master meter facility is notified of either impending disconnection for nonpayment 
of the electric service or of actual disconnection. 

[Insert pass 
through charge 
from TDSP] 
 
$25.00 to meet 
Subst. R. 25.483 
minimum.  
$10.00 per 
addn’l  5 notices 
per 50 units over 
100 units  

Out-of-cycle meter reading charge may be charged if you request an out-of-cycle meter reading. 
 

 

                 During regular hours [Insert pass 
through charge 
from TDSP] 

                 Outside regular working hours – Non-holiday [Insert pass 
through charge 
from TDSP] 

                 Outside regular working hours – Holidays [Insert pass 
through charge 
from TDSP] 

Reread request charge for each request by a customer to obtain meter readings in addition to the 
normal cycle readings.  

[Insert pass 
through charge 

from TDSP] 
Return check charge for each check returned for insufficient funds.  This charge will be imposed for 
each returned check (or for any bill payment method that results in a notice of insufficient funds from 
the customer’s financial institution.) 

 
$ 25.00 

Unmetered Guardlight/Security lighting charge applies to existing guardlights or security lighting.  
 
 

[Insert 
applicable 
$/kWh charge 
equivalent to 
125% of former 
applicable PTB 
tariff for 
unmetered 
guardlight/securi
ty lighting] 

 
  
Tampering charge for unauthorized reconnection of service, tampering with the electric meter, theft of 
electric service by any person on customer’s premise, or evidence thereof, at customer’s premise.  
Additional charges for repair, replacement, relocation of equipment and estimated amount of electric 
service not recorded may also be billed.  

 
[Insert pass 

through charge 
from TDSP] 

Disconnection Reminder Notification charge for notifying customers that disconnection of service may 
be in progress.  This notification may be made by telephone, electronically or by any other means of 

 
$5.00 
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Service Charges and Fees 

 
Charge or 

Fee 
communication appropriate for the customer.   
POLR Provider reserves the right to charge for court costs, legal fees and other costs associated with collection of delinquent 
amounts and miscellaneous legal costs associated with maintaining the account. 
POLR Provider reserves the right to charge for services, requested by you, that are rendered on your behalf after your 
approval of disclosed charges for those services, as well as the right to pass through tariff charges for services rendered by 
the TDSP and billed to POLR Provider.  

 
4. DISCONNECTION OF SERVICE 
 
Disconnection means a physical interruption of electric service.  Disconnection is subject to the rules of the PUCT. 

a) Your account will be considered delinquent if payment for your monthly bill or pay-in-advance billing is 
not paid on or before the 16th day after issuance of the bill.   If your account becomes delinquent, your 
service may be disconnected  ten days after notice is issued. 

b) Your service may be disconnected for failure to pay cash deposit as well as pay in advance. Your service 
may be disconnected after you are notified of your failure to comply with the terms of this TOSA or any 
payment plan.  

c) Service may not be reconnected until all delinquent amounts and charges owed to POLR Provider have 
been paid.  Upon receipt of all amounts and charges owed service may not be reconnected immediately 
and is dependent upon TDSP scheduling. 

d) Your service may be disconnected without notice

e) If you choose to cancel service under this TOSA, your service will be disconnected unless you have made 
arrangements with another retail electric provider and a switch to the new provider has been successfully 
completed by the Registration Agent by the date you choose to cancel service.  You will be responsible for 
any charges pursuant to section 1 PRICE FOR BASIC SERVICE, section 2 SECURITY AND 
BILLING and section 3 SERVICE CHARGES AND FEES of this agreement up to the date you choose 
to cancel service or the date you switch electric service to another REP, whichever is later. 

 if a dangerous or hazardous condition exists, if the 
service has been connected without proper authority or for the reasons prescribed in the PUCT Substantive 
Rules.  Service will not be reconnected until the dangerous or hazardous condition has been corrected. 

f) A disconnection notice may be issued concurrently with the written requests for either the initial or 
additional cash deposit or with a pay-in-advance in lieu of cash deposit billing.  

g) A disconnection notice may be issued concurrently with your pay-in-advance or cash deposit billing.   
h) Your service may be disconnected for failure to pay an initial pay-in-advance bill or monthly pay-in-

advance bill. 
i) POLR Provider cannot disconnect your electric service until you are a customer of the POLR Provider. 

 
5. CUSTOMER INFORMATION  
 
You will be required to provide a legal name, Federal tax identification (I.D.) number, a social security number, a 
valid driver’s license number or other verifiable means of identification in order to allow verification of changes 
you request in services from POLR Provider. 

 
You authorize the TDSP, any previous retail electric provider, or the Independent Organization to provide 
information to POLR Provider including but not limited to previous billings and usage of electricity, meter 
readings and types of service received, credit history, any records of tampering, other names in which service has 
been provided, social security number, contact telephone number(s), tax ID or driver’s license number, etc. 
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You authorize POLR Provider at POLR Providers discretion to release your customer payment information to 
credit reporting agencies, regulatory agents, agents of POLR Provider, energy assistance agencies, law enforcement 
agencies or the TDSP. 

 
You authorize POLR Provider to use credit-reporting agencies to evaluate your credit history. 

 
6. LENGTH OF AGREEMENT 
 
NOTICE: POLR PROVIDER CANNOT REQUIRE THAT YOU SIGN UP FOR A MINIMUM 
CONTRACT TERM AS A CONDITION OF PROVIDING SERVICE.   
 
Subject to the advance payment provisions described in section 2, no term of service is required under this TOSA 
unless by mutual agreement a term is agreed to in writing between you and POLR Provider or if you enter an 
agreed payment plan requiring a minimum term.  
 
7. END OF POLR TERM 
 
POLR Provider’s standard terms of service and obligations to offer the POLR rate specified under section 1, PRICE 
FOR BASIC FIRM SERVICE, will expire on [insert last date of POLR term].   At least 60 days before that date, 
POLR Provider will provide you notice of available options for securing electric service after POLR’s existing term 
has expired.  If you obtain electric service from a provider other than POLR Provider, your final bill from POLR 
Provider will be offset against your deposit and any remaining balance will be refunded to you within 20 days from 
the final meter read date.    
 

 
8. CONTACT INFORMATION 
 

Name of Provider:                     Certificate Number:  
Physical Address:       Customer Assistance:  

 Contact hours:  
24-Hour Power Outage:   
Fax:    
Internet web-site: 

 
You may contact POLR Provider if you have a dispute concerning your bill or your service from POLR Provider.  
You must provide, in writing, within ten business days of the invoice date your reasons for disputing the invoice.  
You will be obligated to pay the undisputed portion of the bill and the POLR may pursue disconnection of service 
for nonpayment of the undisputed portion after appropriate notice.  In the event that you give timely notice of a 
dispute, you and the POLR Provider shall, for a period of 30 calendar days following the POLR Provider’s receipt 
of the notice, pursue diligent, good faith efforts to resolve the dispute.  Following resolution of the dispute, any 
amount found payable by either party shall be paid within ten business days.   

 
Complaints regarding your service may also be directed to the Public Utility Commission, 1-888-782-8477 (toll 
free). Complaints directed to the Public Utility Commission do not relieve customer’s obligation to pay in full 
within 16 days . 

 
9. BILL PAYMENT METHODS  
  
You may pay for your electric service by personal or cashier's check, money order, electronic funds transfer, 
automatic draft from your financial institution or in cash through a company authorized agent.  If you choose to 
make payment via electronic funds transfer or automatic draft, you must contact POLR Provider’ Customer Service 
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number above to begin those options for bill payment at no cost.  Regardless of the payment method you select, all 
payments must be made within 16 calendar days of bill issuance.  If POLR Provider does not receive payments by 
the end of the day on the due date, the bill will be considered delinquent and a late fee of 5% will be applied to all 
unpaid balances including pay-in-advance.  

 
If you have had two or more personal checks returned for insufficient funds within the past 12 months, POLR 
Provider will require all further payments for electric service to be by cash, cashier's check or money order.  

 
10. FORCE MAJEURE 
  
POLR Provider shall not be liable in damages for any act or event that is beyond its control including but not 
limited to, an act of God, act of the public enemy, war, insurrection, riot, fire, explosion, labor disturbance or 
strike, terrorism, wildlife, accident, breakdown or accident to machinery or equipment, or a valid curtailment 
order, regulation, or restriction imposed by governmental, military, or lawfully established civilian authorities, 
including any directive of the independent organization, and performance or nonperformance by the TDSP. 

 
11. LIMITATION OF LIABILITY AND INDEMNITY 
  

 

POLR PROVIDER DOES NOT GENERATE YOUR ELECTRICITY, NOR DOES POLR PROVIDER 
TRANSMIT OR DISTRIBUTE ELECTRICITY TO YOU.  POLR PROVIDER WILL NOT BE LIABLE FOR 
CONSEQUENTIAL, FLUCTUATIONS, INTERRUPTIONS OR IRREGULARITIES IN BASIC FIRM SERVICE.  
LIABILITIES NOT EXCUSED BY REASON OF FORCE MAJEURE OR OTHERWISE SHALL BE LIMITED 
TO DIRECT, ACTUAL DAMAGES.  NEITHER YOU NOR THE POLR PROVIDER SHALL BE LIABLE TO 
THE OTHER FOR CONSEQUENTIAL, INCIDENTAL, PUNITIVE, EXEMPLARY, OR INDIRECT 
DAMAGES.  THESE LIMITATIONS APPLY WITHOUT REGARD TO THE CAUSE OF ANY LIABILITY OR 
DAMAGE.   

12. REPRESENTATIONS AND WARRANTIES 
  
POLR PROVIDER WARRANTS THAT THE ELECTRICITY SOLD UNDER THIS AGREEMENT WILL BE 
“BASIC FIRM SERVICE” AS THAT TERM IS DEFINED IN PUCT SUBST.R. 25.43(c)(3), TO WIT 
“ELECTRIC SERVICE NOT SUBJECT TO INTERRUPTION FOR ECONOMIC REASONS AND THAT DOES 
NOT INCLUDE VALUE ADDED OPTIONS OFFERED IN THE COMPETITIVE MARKET.  BASIC FIRM 
SERVICE EXCLUDES, AMONG OTHER COMPETITIVELY OFFERED OPTIONS, EMERGENCY OR BACK-
UP SERVICE, AND STAND-BY SERVICE.” 

 

 

POLR PROVIDER MAKES NO OTHER WARRANTIES WHATSOEVER WITH REGARD TO THE 
PROVISION OF ELECTRIC SERVICE AND DISCLAIMS ANY AND ALL OTHER WARRANTIES, EXPRESS 
OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING BUT NOT LIMITED TO WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY OR FITNESS 
FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE. 

13. DISCRIMINATION 
  
POLR Provider will not refuse to provide electric service or otherwise discriminate in the provision of electric 
service to any customer based on race, creed, color, national origin, ancestry, sex, marital status, lawful source of 
income, disability, familial status, level of income, location of customer in an economically distressed geographic 
area, or qualification for low-income or energy efficiency services. 

 
  
You have the right to cancel this agreement (Standard Terms of Service Agreement) for electric service without 
penalty or fee of any kind for a period of three federal business days after you have received the Standard Terms of 
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Service.  You may cancel your service and this agreement by calling the toll free Customer Service number during 
the hours stated in this Standard Terms of Service Agreement.  Service may also be cancelled by toll-free fax or e-
mail.  Canceling this service agreement will result in disconnection of service if you have not made 
arrangements for alternative supply. 
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 This agency hereby certifies that the proposal has been reviewed by legal counsel and 

found to be within the agency's legal authority to adopt. 

 
ISSUED IN AUSTIN, TEXAS ON THE 27th DAY OF FEBRUARY 2006 BY THE 

PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION OF TEXAS 
ADRIANA A. GONZALES 
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	Provider of Last Resort (POLR) Residential Service
	SPANISH LANGUAGE (IDIOMA ESPANOL) Si usted  quiere obtener el mismo documento impreso detallando los Términos de Servicio en español comunicandose con nosotros al [insert toll-free number].

	Amount
	Service Charges and Fees
	[Insert POLR Provider Name] (Certificate No.______)
	Provider of Last Resort (POLR) Small Non-Residential Service (insert:  less than 50 kW or greater than or equal to 50 kW)
	SPANISH LANGUAGE (IDIOMA ESPANOL) Si usted  quiere obtener el mismo documento impreso detallando los Términos de Servicio en español comunicandose con nosotros al [insert toll-free number].
	CASH DEPOSIT
	If service is initiated under option (a) CASH DEPOSIT you will be billed monthly for your electric service after the scheduled monthly meter read date.  The monthly billing period will be approximately 30 days.  Your bill will be due upon receipt and ...
	b) [PAY-IN-ADVANCE LANGUAGE TO BE INCLUDED IN STANDARD TERMS OF SERVICE AT THE OPTION OF POLR PROVIDER] PAY-IN-ADVANCE BILLING OPTION IN LIEU OF CASH DEPOSIT

	Service Charges and Fees
	Provider of Last Resort (POLR) Large Non-Residential Service (> one megawatt)
	b)  [PAY-IN-ADVANCE LANGUAGE TO BE INCLUDED IN STANDARD TERMS OF SERVICE AT THE OPTION OF POLR PROVIDER] PAY-IN-ADVANCE BILLING OPTION IN LIEU OF CASH DEPOSIT
	If your POLR electric service is initiated by pay-in-advance, you will be billed in advance for your electric service after POLR Provider receives confirmation from the Registration Agent of the effective date you are to become a POLR customer of POLR...

	Charge or

