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§25.478. Credit Requirements and Deposits.  
 
(a) Credit requirements for residential customers.  A retail electric provider (REP) may require a 

residential customer or applicant to establish and maintain satisfactory credit as a condition of providing 
service pursuant to the requirements of this section.  
(1) Establishment of satisfactory credit shall not relieve any customer from complying with the 

requirements for payment of bills by the due date of the bill. 
(2) The credit worthiness of spouses established during shared service in the 12 months prior to 

their divorce will be equally applied to both spouses for 12 months immediately after their 
divorce. 

(3) A residential customer or applicant seeking to establish service with an affiliated REP or 
provider of last resort (POLR) can demonstrate satisfactory credit using one of the criteria 
listed in subparagraphs (A) through (E) of this paragraph.   
(A) A residential customer or applicant may be deemed as having established satisfactory 

credit if the customer or applicant: 
(i) has been a customer of any REP or an electric utility within the two years 

prior to the request for electric service; 
(ii) is not delinquent in payment of any such electric service account; and 
(iii) during the last 12 consecutive months of service was not late in paying a bill 

more than once. 
(B) A residential customer or applicant may be deemed as having established satisfactory 

credit if the customer or applicant possesses a satisfactory credit rating obtained 
through a consumer reporting agency, as defined by the Federal Trade Commission. 

(C) A residential customer or applicant may be deemed as having established satisfactory 
credit if the customer or applicant is 65 years of age or older and the customer is not 
currently delinquent in payment of any electric service account. 

(D) A residential customer or applicant may be deemed as having established satisfactory 
credit if the customer or applicant has been determined to be a victim of family 
violence as defined in the Texas Family Code §71.004, by a family violence center 
as defined in Texas Human Resources Code §51.002, by treating medical personnel, 
by law enforcement personnel, by the Office of a Texas District Attorney or County 
Attorney, by the Office of the Attorney General, or by a grantee of the Texas Equal 
Access to Justice Foundation.  This determination shall be evidenced by submission 
of a certification letter developed by the Texas Council on Family Violence.  The 
certification letter may be submitted directly by use of a toll-free fax number to the 
affiliated REP or POLR. 

(E) A residential customer or applicant seeking to establish service may be deemed as 
having established satisfactory credit if the customer is medically indigent.  In order 
for a customer or applicant to be considered medically indigent, the customer or 
applicant must make a demonstration that the following criteria are met.  Such 
demonstration must be made annually: 
(i) the customer’s or applicant’s household income must be at or below 150% 

of the poverty guidelines as certified by a governmental entity or 
government funded energy assistance program provider; and 

(ii) the customer or applicant or the spouse of the customer or applicant must 
have been certified by that person’s physician as being unable to perform 
three or more activities of daily living as defined in 22 TAC §224.4, or the 
customer’s or applicant’s monthly out-of-pocket medical expenses must 
exceed 20% of the household’s gross income.  For the purposes of this 
subsection, the term “physician” shall mean any medical doctor, doctor of 
osteopathy, nurse practitioner, registered nurse, state-licensed social 
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workers, state-licensed physical and occupational therapists, and an 
employee of an agency certified to provide home health services pursuant to 
42 U.S.C. §1395 et seq. 

(4) A residential customer or applicant seeking to establish service with a REP other than an 
affiliated REP or POLR can demonstrate satisfactory credit using one of the criteria listed in 
subparagraphs (A) through (B) of this paragraph.  Notice of these options for customers or 
applicants shall be included in any written or oral notice to a customer or applicant when a 
deposit is requested.  A REP other than an affiliated REP or POLR may establish additional 
methods by which a customer or applicant not meeting the criteria of subparagraphs (A) or (B) 
of this paragraph can demonstrate satisfactory credit, so long as such criteria are not 
discriminatory pursuant to §25.471(c) of this title (relating to General Provisions of Customer 
Protection Rules). 
(A) The residential customer or applicant is 65 years of age or older and the customer is 

not currently delinquent in payment of any electric service account. 
(B) The customer or applicant has been determined to be a victim of family violence as 

defined in the Texas Family Code §71.004, by a family violence center as defined in 
Texas Human Resources Code §51.002, by treating medical personnel, by law 
enforcement personnel, by the Office of a Texas District Attorney or County 
Attorney, by the Office of the Attorney General, or by a grantee of the Texas Equal 
Access to Justice Foundation.  This determination shall be evidenced by submission 
of a certification letter developed by the Texas Council on Family Violence.  The 
certification letter may be submitted directly by use of a toll-free fax number to the 
REP. 

(5) The REP may obtain payment history information from any REP that has served the applicant 
in the previous two years or from a consumer reporting agency, as defined by the Federal Trade 
Commission.  The REP shall obtain the customer’s or applicant’s authorization prior to 
obtaining such information from the customer’s or applicant’s prior REP. A REP shall 
maintain payment history information for two years after a customer’s electric service has been 
terminated or disconnected in order to be able to provide credit history information at the 
request of the former customer.  

 
(b) Credit requirements for non-residential customers.  A REP may establish nondiscriminatory criteria 

pursuant to §25.471(c) of this title to evaluate the credit requirements for a non-residential customer or 
applicant and apply those criteria in a nondiscriminatory manner.  If satisfactory credit cannot be 
demonstrated by the non-residential customer or applicant using the criteria established by the REP, the 
customer may be required to pay an initial or additional deposit.  No such deposit shall be required if 
the customer or applicant is a governmental entity. 

 
(c) Initial deposits for applicants and existing customers. 

(1) If satisfactory credit cannot be demonstrated by a residential applicant, a REP may require the 
applicant to pay a deposit prior to receiving service.  

(2) An affiliated REP or POLR shall offer a residential customer or applicant who is required to 
pay an initial deposit the option of providing a written letter of guarantee pursuant to subsection 
(i) of this section, instead of paying a cash deposit.  

(3) A REP shall not require an initial deposit from an existing customer unless the customer was 
late paying a bill more than once during the last 12 months of service or had service terminated 
or disconnected for nonpayment during the last 12 months of service.  The customer may be 
required to pay this initial deposit within ten days after issuance of a written disconnection 
notice that requests such deposit.  The disconnection notice may be combined with or issued 
concurrently with the request for deposit.  The disconnection notice shall comply with the 
requirements in §25.483(m) of this title (relating to Disconnection of Service). 
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(d) Additional deposits by existing customers.  
(1) A REP may request an additional deposit from an existing customer if:  

(A) the average of the customer’s actual billings for the last 12 months are at least twice 
the amount of the original average of the estimated annual billings; and  

(B) a termination or disconnection notice has been issued or the account disconnected 
within the previous 12 months.  

(2) A REP may require the customer to pay an additional deposit within ten days after the REP 
has requested the additional deposit.  

(3) A REP may disconnect service if the additional deposit is not paid within ten days of the 
request, provided a written disconnection notice has been issued to the customer.  A 
disconnection notice may be combined with or issued concurrently with the written request for 
the additional deposit.  The disconnection notice shall comply with the requirements in 
§25.483(m) of this title. 

 
(e) Amount of deposit. 

(1) The total of all deposits, initial and additional, required by a REP from any residential customer 
or applicant:  
(A) shall not exceed an amount equivalent to the greater of: 

(i) one-fifth of the customer’s estimated annual billing; or 
(ii) the sum of the estimated billings for the next two months. 

(B) A REP may base the estimated annual billing for initial deposits for applicants on a 
reasonable estimate of average usage for the customer class.  If a REP requests 
additional or initial deposits from existing customers, the REP shall base the 
estimated annual billing on the customer’s actual historical usage, to the extent that 
the historical usage is available.  After 12 months of service with a REP, a customer 
may request that a REP recalculate the required deposit based on actual historical 
usage of the customer.   

(2) For the purpose of determining the amount of the deposit, the estimated billings shall include 
only charges for electric service that are disclosed in the REP’s terms of service document 
provided to the customer or applicant.  

 
(f)  Interest on deposits. A REP that requires a deposit pursuant to this section shall pay interest on that 

deposit at an annual rate at least equal to that set by the commission on or before December 1 of the 
preceding calendar year, pursuant to Texas Utilities Code §183.003 (relating to Rate of Interest).  If a 
deposit is refunded within 30 days of the date of deposit, no interest payment is required. If the REP 
keeps the deposit more than 30 days, payment of interest shall be made from the date of deposit.  
(1) Payment of the interest to the customer shall be made annually, if requested by the customer, 

or at the time the deposit is returned or credited to the customer’s account. 
(2) The deposit shall cease to draw interest on the date it is returned or credited to the customer’s 

account.  
 

(g) Notification to customers.  When a REP requires a customer to pay a deposit, the REP shall provide 
the customer written information about the provider’s deposit policy, the customer’s right to post a 
guarantee in lieu of a cash deposit if applicable, how a customer may be refunded a deposit, and the 
circumstances under which a provider may increase a deposit.  These disclosures shall be included 
either in the Your Rights as a Customer disclosure or the REP’s terms of service document. 

 
(h) Records of deposits. 

(1) A REP that collects a deposit shall keep records to show: 
(A) the name and address of each depositor; 
(B) the amount and date of the deposit; and 
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(C) each transaction concerning the deposit. 
(2) A REP that collects a deposit shall issue a receipt of deposit to each customer or applicant 

paying a deposit or reflect the deposit on the customer’s bill statement.  A REP shall provide 
means for a depositor to establish a claim if the receipt is lost. 

(3) A REP shall maintain a record of each unclaimed deposit for at least four years. 
(4) A REP shall make a reasonable effort to return unclaimed deposits. 

 
(i) Guarantees of residential customer accounts.  A guarantee agreement in lieu of a cash deposit issued 

by any REP, if applicable, shall conform to the following requirements:  
(1) A guarantee agreement between a REP and a guarantor shall be in writing and shall be for no 

more than the amount of deposit the provider would require on the customer’s account 
pursuant to subsection (e) of this section.  The amount of the guarantee shall be clearly 
indicated in the signed agreement.  The REP may require, as a condition of the continuation 
of the guarantee agreement, that the guarantor remain a customer of the REP, have no past due 
balance, and have no more than one late payment in a 12-month period during the term of the 
guarantee agreement. 

(2) The guarantee shall be voided and returned to the guarantor according to the provisions of 
subsection (j) of this section. 

(3) Upon default by a residential customer, the guarantor of that customer’s account shall be 
responsible for the unpaid balance of the account only up to the amount agreed to in the written 
agreement. 

(4) If the guarantor ceases to be a customer of the REP or has more than one late payment in a 12-
month period during the term of the guarantee agreement, the provider may treat the guarantee 
agreement as in default and demand a cash deposit from the residential customer as a condition 
of continuing service. 

(5) The REP shall provide written notification to the guarantor of the customer’s default, the 
amount owed by the guarantor, and the due date for the amount owed. 
(A) The REP shall allow the guarantor 16 days from the date of notification to pay the 

amount owed on the defaulted account.  If the sixteenth day falls on a holiday or 
weekend, the due date shall be the next business day. 

(B) The REP may transfer the amount owed on the defaulted account to the guarantor’s 
own electric service bill provided the guaranteed amount owed is identified separately 
on the bill as required by §25.479 of this title (relating to Issuance and Format of 
Bills).  

(6) The REP may initiate disconnection for nonpayment of the guaranteed amount only if the 
disconnection of service was disclosed in the written guarantee agreement, and only after 
proper notice as described by paragraph (5) of this subsection or §25.483 of this title. 

 
(j) Refunding deposits and voiding letters of guarantee. 

(1) A deposit held by a REP shall be refunded when the customer has paid bills for service for 12 
consecutive residential billings or for 24 consecutive non-residential billings without having 
any late payments.  A REP may refund the deposit to a customer via a bill credit.  REPs shall 
comply with this provision as soon as practicable, but no later than August 31, 2004.  

(2) Once the REP is no longer the REP of record for a customer or if service is not established 
with the REP, the REP shall either transfer the deposit plus accrued interest to the customer’s 
new REP or promptly refund the deposit plus accrued interest to the customer, as agreed upon 
by the customer and both REPs.  The REP may subtract from the amount refunded any amounts 
still owed by the customer to the REP.  If the REP obtained a guarantee, such guarantee shall 
be cancelled to the extent that it is not needed to satisfy any outstanding balance owed by the  
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customer.  Alternatively, the REP may provide the guarantor with written documentation that 
the contract has been cancelled to the extent that the guarantee is not needed to satisfy any 
outstanding balance owed by the customer.   

(3) If a customer’s or applicant’s service is not connected, or is disconnected, or the service is 
terminated by the customer, the REP shall promptly void and return to the guarantor all letters 
of guarantee on the account or provide written documentation that the guarantee agreement 
has been voided, or refund the customer’s or applicant’s deposit plus accrued interest on the 
balance, if any, in excess of the unpaid bills for service furnished.  Similarly, if the guarantor’s 
service is not connected, or is disconnected, or the service is terminated by the customer, the 
REP shall promptly void and return to the guarantor all letters of guarantee or provide written 
documentation that the guarantees have been voided.  This provision does not apply when the 
customer or guarantor moves or changes the address where service is provided, as long as the 
customer or guarantor remains a customer of the REP. 

(4) A REP shall terminate a guarantee agreement when the customer has paid its bills for 12 
consecutive months without service being disconnected for nonpayment and without having 
more than two delinquent payments.  

 
(k) Re-establishment of credit.  A customer or applicant who previously has been a customer of the REP 

and whose service has been terminated or disconnected for nonpayment of bills or theft of service by 
that customer (meter tampering or bypassing of meter) may be required, before service is reinstated, to 
pay all amounts due to the REP or execute a deferred payment agreement, if offered, and reestablish 
credit.   

 
(l) Upon sale or transfer of company.  Upon the sale or transfer of a REP or the designation of an 

alternative POLR for the customer’s electric service, the seller or transferee shall provide the legal 
successor to the original provider all deposit records.   




