CHAPTER 24. SUBSTANTIVE RULES APPLICABLE TO WATER AND SEWER SERVICE

PROVIDERS.

Subchapter B. RATES, RATE-MAKING, AND RATES/TARIFF CHANGES.

824.26. Suspension of the Effective Date of Rates.
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Regardless of, and in addition to, any period of suspension ordered pursuant to subsection (b) of this
section, after written notice to the utility, the commission may suspend the effective date of a rate change
for not more than:

(1) 150 days from the date the proposed rates would otherwise be effective for an application filed
pursuant to TWC §13.187; or
(2) 265 days from the date the proposed rates would otherwise be effective for an application filed

pursuant to TWC §13.1871.

Regardless of, and in addition to, any period of suspension ordered pursuant to subsection (a) of this
section, the commission may suspend the effective date of a change in rates requested pursuant to TWC
§13.187 or §13.1871 if the utility:

(D) has failed to properly complete the rate application as required by 824.22 of this title (relating to
Notice of Intent and Application to Change Rates Pursuant to Texas Water Code §13.187 or
813.1871), has failed to comply with the notice requirements and proof of notice requirements, or
has for any other reason filed a request to change rates that is not deemed administratively
complete until a properly completed request to change rates is accepted by the commission;

2) does not have a certificate of convenience and necessity or a completed application pending with
the commission to obtain or to transfer a certificate of convenience and necessity until a completed
application to obtain or transfer a certificate of convenience and necessity is accepted by the
commission; or

?3) is delinquent in paying the regulatory assessment fee and any applicable penalties or interest
required by TWC 8§5.701(n) until the delinquency is remedied.

If the commission suspends the effective date of a requested change in rates pursuant to subsection (b) of
this section, the requirement under 824.28(b)(1) of this title (relating to Processing and Hearing
Requirements for an Application Filed Pursuant to Texas Water Code §13.187 or §13.1871) to begin a
hearing within 30 days of the effective date does not apply and the utility may not notify its customers of a
new proposed effective date until the utility receives written notification from the commission that all
deficiencies have been corrected.

A suspension ordered pursuant to subsection (a) of this section shall be extended two days for each day a
hearing on the merits exceeds 15 days.

If the commission does not make a final determination on the proposed rate before the expiration of the
suspension period described by subsections (a) and (d) of this section, the proposed rate shall be considered
approved. This approval is subject to the authority of the commission thereafter to continue a hearing in
progress.

The effective date of any rate change may be suspended at any time during the pendency of a proceeding,
including after the date on which the proposed rates are otherwise effective.

For good cause shown, the commission may at any time during the proceeding require the utility to refund
money collected under a proposed rate before the rate was suspended to the extent the proposed rate
exceeds the existing rate.
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